Twin Cities Marathon photos, and a teaser…!

Well, Marathon day has come and gone, and I’m still alive. Not going to lie – it was really, really hard watching everyone run and be so happy (oh my gosh.. that sounds terrible), but there was no way I could NOT be happy to see everyone doing so well. The conditions were perfect – cool (45°-50°ish), dry, little to no wind, even SUN at some points – just perfect. My mom and I formed a pretty solid cheer squad just by ourselves – I swear we were yelling more/louder than anyone around us. We looked pretty cute too – She was wearing her 2000 Boston jacket and I was wearing my 2009 Boston Jacket, and they’re both blue and yellow. Go ahead… awwww

DSCN4663

We cheered at mile 6 and at mile 22, and honestly, I felt like we saw so many fewer not-gonna-make-it runners at 22 then we have ever seen before. Mile 22 is at a point where you’re definitely fatigued, and you still have four more miles to go. We kept cheering runners on saying “just break it down – one mile at a time”, “keep that focus”, “you’re looking strong – you can do it” and other stuff that the runners probably laughed once they heard. Lol I’ve said some ridiculous stuff before in a marathon…

DSCN4654_2

(Front runners coming through mile 6)

Funny story: so there’s a runner on Team USA MN that I knew was running the marathon. I’ve met her and talked to her before – super nice girl. All of Team USA MN trains at my gym so I’ve actually gotten to meet a lot of them! Anyways, I saw her at mile 6, and yelled my head off! Then the lady next to me said, “Who is that?” and I told her “Michelle, from Team USA MN.” And my fellow cheer’er said, “Haha, no. That’s Kristen!” So when I saw her again at mile 22, I yelled “You’re doing awesome Kristen!!” or something along those lines. OK.. I thought for sure I knew her name.. I’ve talked to her enough. I felt pretty dumb for having talked to her all this time and called her the wrong name. Turns out I was right the first time.. definitely Michelle. not Mrs. No-You’re-Wrong… so then I just looked dumb at mile 22! She gave me this funny grin at mile 22 too.. so either she thinks I’m nuts or she’ll think it’s hilarious. Lol it’ll be an interesting conversation next time I see her.

“My” runners did SUPERB – every fricking one of them! I think they’re ok with first names on the blog, so here are my runners’ results:

  • Sue – 3:47 – qualified for her first Boston!
  • Jim – 3:37 – his FIRST marathon!
  • Jackie – 3:37 – a PR!
  • Jeanie – 3:53 – another PR!
  • Josue – 3:12 – a PR and a crazy amazing time!
  • Julie – 3:42 – another PR!
  • Tzivia – 4:08, and a great race!
  • Julie A – 3:53 and I think a PR for her too. Her chip fell off.. bummer!
  • Mark – 3:24, and other Boston Qualifier!
  • Mark O – 3:36 – just a couple minutes off of a PR, but a great race nonetheless, and NO cramping!
  • Bill – 3:33 – a HUGE PR, and a BQ!
  • Jaimie – 3:37, and another trip to Boston!

I just can’t say how proud of everyone I am!! If you want to check results of your runners, you  can look up the RACE RESULTS HERE.

One of the ladies from my Dashers training group who wasn’t running the marathon put together a huge volunteer team to man the mile 22 water stop. It was great to see everyone and their kids/husbands/friends working so hard. I have worked the mile 7 water stop for many years, and it’s a hard job! This photo below is of myself and the coach of that group. She’s running Whistlestop this weekend! She is honestly the best coach I have ever had, and couldn’t ask for anything more.. she is the one who got me into triathlons, got me back in the pool, she is just a fantastic lady.. that’s as much as I can say!

DSCN4679

Big up to these guys coming through – the two front runners at mile 22. So. Fast!

DSCN4671

Like I said, watching all these runners.. there was no way I couldn’t feel happy for them. True confession though.. pretty much every runner I see out there when I’m on my bike or just walking.. I want to run you down and grab you and make you stop. Haha steal your shoes or something! 😯 Not at the marathon though!! Hahah if you’ve ever been injured and had to take serious time off, you know how I feel, and if you haven’t been there, just consider yourself lucky.

DSCN4666

Despite the ?? look on my face.. I am SO glad I went out to cheer. When I’m running races, I appreciate the crowd support SO MUCH. And despite hearing dumb funny stuff sometimes.. it all helps.

So what’s this teaser? Well… I am doing my first GIVEAWAY! Stay tuned for details!! There will be a couple winners… I’m excited!

One last big congrats to all you Twin Cities Marathon finishers, and anyone else who raced this weekend! Good luck to my Whistlestop runners this coming Sunday! Nighty night yall.

-E

6 Responses

  1. glad youre able to still enjoy watching the race even though it sucks because you want to be out there. too funny about wanting to steal ppls shoes to get them to stop running. sounds like something i would say haha 🙂

  2. ok ok…..awwww lol. You and your mum look so cute, and having both run marathons Im sure you were the best cheerers out there. I know it would have been really hard not to be running but going out there to support really shows what a lovely person you are.
    Trust me, i definitely know what you mean about wanting to stop others running when you cant. Whilst injured i actually made a pretty good go at staying away from anything running related because it just made me even more sad. So dont feel bad!…..altho if you do get round to nickin’ some shoes make sure you get Asics in your size 😉 Stay strong and take good care of yourself x

  3. Yeah, being at a race you can’t run is a strange feeling. Happy for all the excitement occurring, but a little sad, though you get to view the race from a different perspective and it’s pretty cool. Oh, and I think it’s really cool that you went out and watched and cheered on your friends. =)

    Wow, the lead guys, their stride looks so effortless!

    • I know – they had really separated themselves from the pack! They were both tucked in back of the lead group of men at mile 6… sommmme day. I will be that fast. Or Kenyan. 😉

  4. Fans seriously make such a huge difference, kudos to you for going when I know it must have been tough

  5. so on the Iphone I am totally with you on not wanting to pay for the service…and I really only use it as a phone and for internet. Since I am now taking up to 4 flights a month, it just seemed really convinent for traveling and all that.

    I haven’t used it for working out because it seems strange to think of my phone getting sweaty…but then I could have it on runs and call somoen if I needed to

Leave a Reply

