tracing boston.. backwards

That may look familiar if you are a Boston FloTracker.. and if not… mmm never mind. 🙂

I’m not even gonna say “sorry… I haven’t posted in blah blah blah” because OBVIOUSLY it has been a while, but truth be told – I am a busy kid. The majority of any “me time” I get during school is either spent running or in the Caf. Clearly two very important things. When I’m writing, it’s usually an essay, an application, or a lab report – there is very little time left for coming up with something to put up here. The reason I’m not apologizing is that I love being busy! I would much rather have the busy schedule I do now than be sitting at my desk, bored.

Anyways, back to this “Tracing Boston” business. This would be referring to my last “long run”. My DF Maddie (who had just KILLED in her first collegiate 1500 the day before!) was taking her rest day, and she decided to bike with me on this mini adventure! Many people run the Boston course as part of their training runs… you gotta get used to them hills! So I decided to start from the finish, and work backwards. 

dscn17262

dscn1729

The famous finish line in front of my favorite store – Marathon Sports!

dscn1731

Workin our way down Commonwealth Ave. Maddie needs to be included too:

dscn1734

We did the route out to the Chestnut Hill Reservoir, and then we cut over on Chestnut Hill Ave to the Brookline Reservoir. At which point we felt the need to take this:

dscn1736

And then continued on for 5 seconds, until a woman felt the need to “scold” us because Maddie was on a bicycle, and “bicycles are not allowed.” To which my response was, “It’s ok, we got permission” and we continued on our way. We had to get to the other end of the lake somehow! 

From the Brookline Res we took a straight shot down Boylston, which turns into Huntington somewhere along the way, and found this secret water stop that they forgot to mention in the course guides…

dscn1738

Gatorade, huh? Is that what they’re callin it these days? 😀

dscn1739

Clearly, it did the trick. 

Before I knew it, we were already back on campus! It was a very fast 9 miles! Not fast as in fast running, but it went by very quickly. It wasn’t so bad though – with all the stops and everything my Garmin gave us a just sub 8 pace. They didn’t feel like sub 8s, but I guess thats what happens when you’re going with a bike! We had a great day!

dscn1742

In other non-running life, I’m just trying to piece together my schedule for next semester and figure out what’s going on for next year. It. Is. Stressful. But you know what? When I look at my life, I have a lot to smile about, so I’m going to try and keep that in mind, and keep a positive attitude. 

My dad comes back from Germany this week. He recently moved to Philly – exciting! Well only sorta. I will miss him a lot in the summers.. especially having him show up at the Tin Fish randomly. I could use a dad hug right now. 😦

Ahh! But those smiles! Hahha it’s easy to forget sometimes. Time for me to get working! I had my LAST Chem lab of the semester today, and I want to get this lab report DONE and out of my hands!

Love yall.
-E

3 Responses

  1. Looks like a fun adventure…or at least some fun pictures! I guess you’re not running Boston this year, but hopefully you’ll enjoy running some of the course!

  2. Awesome run around beantown. I love marathon sports too. But i think the store is way too small, they should be sellin more stuff!

  3. hey girl! glad you are back to running and loving it! wish i could say the same for myself– ive been dealing with ITB for 4 months ick!!! you are a huge inspiration though 🙂
    ok not to sound stalkerish but i live on beacon hill and i swear i saw you running up bowdoin st this weekend??? maybe im wrong! anyways glad to hear all is well!

Leave a Reply

