shake ya money maker

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pHpMYR9wVaU (for the readers who don’t have a secret affair with pharrell)

I actually really didn’t (/don’t) like that song when it came out. The lyrics are pretty lame. But Pharell.. and that face.. ahh!!

ANYWAYS, the money maker title comes from the fact that makin money is like my job right now (oh wait.. aside from school..) because I came to the sad realization that many things in life cost money (… doh!) and although I have a decent safety stash in my bank account, I am really terrible with spending money. I haaaate it. I’m not like so frugal that I won’t spend money at all, but when it comes to buying things for myself, I usually find a way to talk myself out of it. Either it’s “I have enough running clothes” or “I can run the lake for free, why would I pay to race it?”ย 

Wow.. that was a tangent. What I was going to say right after “makin money is like my job right now” is that ย I spent part of today down at Brigham & Women’s Hospital participating in an asthma study. And an asthma study that pays! Today I was paid for basically just filling out forms, and getting myself down there, which was like a 15 minute walk in the gorgeous sun. Next time I will be paid for letting them induce an asthma attack in me, which doesn’t sound as fun as just filling out forms. Luckily, they jack me up with albuterol to bring my lungs back to normal after the attack, so it can’t be that bad. And hey.. I’ve had enough asthma attacks on my own, and no one pays me for those! ๐Ÿ˜‰

And the other sentence that was supposed to come after “spent part of today down at Brigham & Women’s Hospital participating in an asthma study” was that I got paid, and I used that money to register for the Loco Luv2Run 5K! This will be my first “real” race now that I’m back in action. It is also the day before the Boston Marathon, so maybe this will help ease my pain from not running.ย 

No joke.. letting Boston go this year is the hardest thing I’ve ever not done.ย 

Anyways – this race – I’m really excited!! This adds one more race to what is my current/probable race calendar for 2009:

  • Great River Ragnar Relay (3 6-mile legs over 24 hours)
  • Lake Waconia Triathlon (the running leg)
  • Hennipen Lake Classic Double Header (10K + 5K)
  • Urban Wildland Half (Half.. claro)
  • Loco Luv2Run (5K)

That pretty much gets me through the end of the summer! I haven’t started looking at races once school starts up again in the fall, because I don’t really know what my situation will be at that point. I have to hop on it soon though and get my registration in for Ragnar and the Waconia Tri.. because one of the things I hate dislike the most is paying a late fee!ย 

Time to go meet this kid for some Caf time.. I don’t know if I like the kid more or the caf? Haha oh life… there is this little love triangle going on here in Boston, and it’s throwing me off big time. When it rains it pours. And that’s the end of that!

Love yall.
-E

4 Responses

  1. I have to keep myself from spending money, too. Sometimes I go online to sites and add things to the shopping cart, but don’t buy it because if I’ve been fine without it so far, do I really need it? The answer is no. Oh well!

  2. Ohhh honey. I’m so sorry about Boston…oh hun. *hugs* I can imagine how that hurts. It hurt me when I had to let go of Disney 08 because of being sick but letting go of Boston…I can only imagine. But, hey, there was a time where you weren’t sure if you could ever run again, so let’s keep moving forward!!!!

    And um…can I have your hatred for spending money??? Could you PLEASE take over my finances??!?!?!?

    Miss ya!!! Sorry I’ve been MIA!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. The induced asthma attack sounds a littttttttle freaky. I remember when I had them back in the day, no fun. I dont think i would want to relive it! I totalllly am with you on talking myself out of buying things. I just wait for tax returns and go nuts! ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Good luck with that Loco Luv2Run race! It sounds like a great way to start back up with a bang. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

