i. owe. you.

Big time…

Where did this last week go? Wasn’t it just like two days ago that I was saying “I’ll be posting on Friday.. from HOME!” ??

Mmm.. apparently, that was like 2 weeks ago. AND, I didn’t bring my camera home with me from Boston! I was so pissed because I did so many fun things.. and I would have been snapping pictures all day otherwise! Well, here’s what I can give you: a running update, a review/recommendation, and a video! Haha now that I have it all figured out!

she runs…

Not quite like she used to… (wait a minute.. was that 3rd person?! IIICK.) not quite like she not quite like I used to… yet. While I was home I got in a LOT of good QT runs with my mom! It was perfect because I could let myself go slow, and she didn’t have to keep saying, “Erika, you wanna wait for me?” (hehehe.. OK, only a couple times.) It was also a good time to bump my distance a little (key word: a little. I’m following the 10% rule) because I was going slower than usual. It’s not like I came up with this… but a good tip to all new runners is don’t increase your distance and your speed/intensity at the same time. Work on one, get comfortable, and then work on the other. 

Here was my February:

februn1

and here’s my March so far:

marrun1

I’m up to 6.3 miles right now, and will most likely go to 7 this weekend if everything is till feeling good! It’s nice to be able to actually run on the river now, not just to the river and back home!

she i reads

If you haven’t read the book The Last Lecture yet, you better hop on it. It. Is. Fantastic. No matter what you are dealing with in life, you will find motivation in that book to keep your chin up and keep trucking. My example: just last Sunday night, I was coming towards the end of my run, and all of the sudden I realized, hey, no one has passed me! That quickly turned into, hey, maybe I’m not running so slow! and all these great thoughts. I was feeling good. And then about 30 seconds later, I see these reflective Adidas stripes comin up behind me, and before I know it this guy passes me up. My good quickly turned to %$@!^@&($ and suddenly my maybe 7:40s turned to a definitely 10:00s and I was never going to race again, let alone be “fast”. About a minute into my downward spiral, I remembered a quote from the book (which is actually a quote from Henry Ford, who said it a little differently)…

Whether you think you can or you can’t, you’re right.

That’s all it took to shake those BS thoughts out of my head. It’s true – if I tell myself I can’t do something, then I won’t. Or worse, I won’t even try. Maybe this 30something guy was running faster than me on Sunday, and that’s OK. I know I’m not the fastest kid out there, and clearly not right after surgery. There’s time. But know who I passed once I turned off the Charles and headed down Mass. Ave? Mr. AdidaStripes. Walking home. 😀

and I YouTube…

But just a lil bit. I love dancing whenever I’m home!! Going out is good.. but I like taking classes too. I haven’t really found that kinda thing here in Boston, but that’s OK because I don’t have time for it anyway!

Here’s a little of what I have planned for this (umm.. I can’t promise “week”. I hope!) whenever:

  • a new page!
  • a reviewwww!
  • this summer’s race calendar!

To anyone still out there – thanks for stickin’ around! It’s Caf time homies…

nom nom nom

4 Responses

  1. Is that you in the YouTube video on the viewer’s far right?

  2. Congrats on the running!

  3. Welcome back! Keep up the good recovery running!

  4. hooray welcome back– i love your running logs!!!

Leave a Reply

