the first day…

In the beginning God created the heavens and the earth.

Now the earth was formless and empty, darkness was over the surface of the deep, and the spirit of God was hovering over the waters.

And God said, “Let there be light,” and there was light. God saw that the light was good, and He separated the light from the darkness. God called the light “day,” and the darkness he called “night.” And there was evening, and there was morning, and ERIKA RAN – the first day.

– Genisis 1

Comrades, the day has finally come – I HAVE OFFICIALLY BEEN CLEARED TO RETURN TO RUNNING. 

dscn1714

That would be the legit note from señor Dr. Denis Clohisy at the University of Minnesota Medical Center, and I have also been cleared by dear Dr. Millis here in Boston, as well as my physical therapist (who I haven’t talked a lot about, but he’s amazing too 😉 ), Ian.

dscn1713

Now let’s be clear on some things… “Return to running” does not mean return to where I was at when I stopped. It does also not mean intervals, or tempos, or 400 repeats on the track. It does not mean that in 10 weeks I will be toeing the line at Boston, no matter how badly I want to/how much I think I “could”/how many times I look over at this posted on my wall next to my desk:

dscn1721

Running Boston THIS YEAR is out. You better believe I’m keeping my number though.. because while you can “defer” your time for a second year, you can’t “defer” your payment, and that is $110 I will not be getting back. 😦 More than the money though, being able to run, but not being able to RUN, is going to kill me. It already is. Going to watch is going to be ridiculously hard, but there is no way I’m not going. I have two people from home that are flying out here to run, as well as 3 friends from here that are running it this year too. I will be there to support them for sure.

While the news that I get to run again is honestly the best thing I’ve heard since, “Hi, this is Marathon Sports. Your Asics just came in…” it did come with some setbacks. (Oh wait.. so did the Asics situation. Pink? Really? The website said RED.)

Hearing I can run? I’m ecstatic. Thrilled. Elated. Overjoyed. Over the moon. Top of the world. I don’t know how many ways I can say it.. but it couldn’t make me happier. EXCEPT.. I was/am scared. So scared. I’m scared that despite how great my hip (/hips) feel, I’m gonna get out there, and be like, “Shit. It’s not supposed to feel like that.” That hasn’t happened yet, and I feel that with each new run I go on, that fear will dissipate,  but that fear is real. 

So what.. 5 mile? No prob? Mmm… not quite. My doctor cleared me for 10 minutes/2x per day (ideally, or just 20 minutes once). As much as I want to take what he said and be like, “Sure.. no probs.” I honestly know that it’s a bit much. Not that I don’t think I could do that, but because I don’t think I should. The coach here.. even after little stress fractures, he starts his runners out at 10 minutes, every other day. 20 minutes every day.. kinda a big step up from that. I’m sticking to every/other right now for this first week, and I’m planning on evaluating with my PT tomorrow at my appointment. 

So yes. I’m back. Lots is going on right now in my life… I have this huge “Project Lent: 2009” thing that I’m doing.. more on that later maybe, and oh yeah, that little thing called college:

dscn1717

dscn1718

Sad story – my roomie put my absolute favorite from-home Caribou Coffee travel mug through the DISHWASHER. And the hot water melted the seal. And melted the red outside color. And now its dunzo. She offered to buy me a new one, and I bring to you:

dscn17201

I know I’m all “RunRoamRECYCLE”, but this is kinda overkill. It was the only one that had a solid closing though.. and I need to be able to toss it in my bag, so there you go. “Made with 28% post-consumer recycled content”. Yeah.. it says that.. plus a lot more lil recycle-happy quotes. I am ALL FOR being environmentally conscious, but I don’t like to preach. You’ll never see me wearing one of VS’s “Think Pink, Go Green” shirts. NEVER. 

Oh.. and that lil guy.. I got a new tattoo. It was kinda one of those last minute decision things.. and I’m not so sure about it now. 😦 Sorry mom. 

Love to you all, and to all a good night. GREYS!

7 Responses

  1. YAY Erika! That’s so exciting! Cute tattoo, what’s the paw print represent? Did it hurt getting it there? Can’t wait to see pics of you running again! Good luck.

    -grace/cauthoncrazy

  2. congrats! oh and btw SICK pic of kara goucher!!! you are able to run just in time for nicer east coast weather!!! great time to be outside, … minus the mud! 🙂

  3. Congrats, girl!

    I’m sorry to hear about your old mug, but the new one is fitting for your blog 😉 Personally, I like the tattoo!

  4. YESS! Back on the streets, back in the saddle again, just like ridin a bike!

    Do work, and take it slow! 🙂

  5. but…but….this is just…AWESOME!!!!!!!

    Woohoo!!! And I love how sensible you are taking things by not wanting to go in too fast. That shows how much you appreciate running & respect your body.

    The tattoo is cute & its small too so nothing worth regretting. My sis has a little heart there….or is it a star? Hmmm, just goes to show how much people notice these things 😉

    ****Hugs****

  6. Hey! My insurance covers PT, but we have a deductable to meet first. Not sure what it is, but I should be there soon.

  7. Wow. It’s been a while since I’ve been around, but I can’t tell you how great it is to hear yo can run again! You must be on cloud 9!
    And hey – when you line up for Boston in 2010, that race is going to be worth twice as much (literally)!
    Congratulations and welcome back.

Leave a Reply

