my little hardware store..

Aright.. well due to multiple comments I received on that last post (two which were kind and respectful, several which were very NOT), I decided to delete it. Apparently people can’t take the MEDICAL pictures for what they are. Glad we’re all so mature.

So. Here is an altered version of those apparently promiscuous xrays I had up. This first one is from October 30th, before surgery. You might not be able to see the fracture.. but it’s there. If you look at the xray and go left of the greater trochanter, and coming about 2/3s of the way up from the bottom side. 

bone-scans_2

This is from January 16th, one month and one day after surgery. I had no idea the screws were this big! 

erika_surgery0002_2

This next one is from the same day. This position is called “The Frog” haha for obvious reasons.

erika_surgery0003_2

I donno about you.. maybe it grosses you out, but I think it’s pretty awesome. I am so thankful for all the amazing doctors I have been privileged to work with – Dr. Millis, Dr. Clohisy, and Dr. Troung – and then there are all the doctors I saw in the beginning who first diagnosed this problem – Dr. Corrado, Dr. Stein, and Dr. Gephart. I wonder how long I could have/would have kept running on it if Dr. Corrado hadn’t referred me to Dr. Stein. I remember his exact words and the tone of his voice – caring, but serious, “Hey kid, you know your limping? You’re gonna need to get that x-rayed before you can be cleared to run.” Thank you all times 1,000,000

I just sent these latest x-rays off to my surgeons at the U of MN this last week, so they should have them by now, and hopefully I can get in touch with them this Monday. I am also supposed to go in for a visit with my surgeon here in Boston for a follow-up. He went out of town last week, but he should be back this week, so hopefully I can get scheduled! My physical therapy also starts up this week – two times a week for now. I’m really excited because I know it will only make me stronger.

Pool workouts and cross training have been going well. My hip honestly feels really good. I told my dad the other day.. I seriously had forgotten what “normal” felt like. I am also really happy with the lifestyle changes that this surgery has brought about. I feel a lot more flexible these days – I feel a lot less concerned with things needing to be so black and white, or so scheduled. Take this: I had signed up for Campus Rec today at the gym.. I’ve taken a lot of the GF classes before, but not this one. Well, after we warmed up and were about 15 minutes in, the instructor said we were going to do suicides, and then go up to the track. Yo dog.. I haven’t been cleared to run yet. And even when I am cleared, it will be easy and short stuff, not suicides and sprints. Instead of thinking “shit.. this was my workout for the day. and I’m already 15 minutes in..” I showed the instructor the big ass scar on my hip, and said “I think I’m gonna have to bail for the rest of class. I haven’t been cleared to run yet..” She was fine with that obvi, and I decided to just call it a day. I have a fun spinning class tomorrow, and I can just make today a rest day. I did some core work, went home and took a shower, and headed to my roomies swim meet!

dscn1639

This is the diving well where I do all my pool running. 😀

dscn1649

My roommate is the one in lane 6 on the far left. She is a killer swimmer.. she made the championship team as a freshman! She rocked it. ❤

As far as general life stuff, I have plenty of stuff on my plate right now. We find out if we make it to round 2 of the RA apps at the end of the month, and if we get the position we’ll know by the end of February. I am also toying with the idea of being an orientation leader this summer.. which means being here, in BOSTON, this summer. I’d get to be home for a month between the end of the term and the time OL training starts.. so I donno. It pays pretty dang well, plus room and (partial) board, so it’s something to think about. Sorry about the big gap in posting, but I’ve been adjusting to life as a pre med student and all my sciences classes. I LOVE IT. Greater trochanter? Yep. I knew that one. Maxillary alveolus? Hahaha… still workin’ on it. 

Loves you,
-E 

OH OH OH! Vegetarian disciplinarian?! You left a comment on my last post. I would LOVE to answer any questions you have about Northeastern!! But the email left in your link isn’t working for me for some reason.. shoot me an email with all your questions and I’d be happy to answer! e.imhoff@homail.com

6 Responses

  1. Yikes! Screws in the leg, I can’t imagine!

  2. Wow! How amazing are doctors nowadays? I’ve seen pics of how little you are and can’t believe having such big screws! Anything to run again, right 😉
    Good job on not pushing it too early or anything like that. I’ve killed different parts of myself before when running – a knee injury kept me down for a year from running – but as long as you accept it and stay motivated in physical therapy, I’m sure everything will turn out fine and you Will be back on the road faster than ever!

  3. That’s awesome! People are stupid if they can’t handle an xray like that, though I admit when I had mine done I felt awkward when my mom and doctor were looking at it! lol
    It’s great that you’re so motivated to stay in shape and back on the track! You really inspire me to do the same 🙂
    Hope your recovery is speedy and free of pain!

  4. Wooooow on those x-rays!!!! Sexy bones, sperl!!!! Lol. Check out my blog, I did a Sperly imitation!!! And also have a recycling question…so…if ya get a chance, swing by!!!

  5. Aw girl, I’m sorry that there are people who can’t handle a picture of a freakin’ X-RAY!! Oh well, just ignore ’em and everything’s good. Those screws are definitely intense, but I find the pictures fascinating. I’m really glad to hear that you’re doing so well.

  6. So glad to hear you are healing well! Keep up the positivity my lovely x

Leave a Reply

