loving time at home..!

Hope no one is asking “Where’d she go?” In traditional Sperly style.. I had to take a bit of a break, but rest assured, I’m still here! This last week has been very busy with my sister and her boyfriend here, Christmas up at my Grandma’s house, my “mini-christmas”es with friends, some Lifetime action, and loooots of sleep! Amen on that last one! ๐Ÿ˜‰

Like I said, my sister and her boy friend came here to spend Christmas with us and the family. This was the first time either my mom or I met her boyfriend, and we both love him! He is the most optimistic, up-beat, and happy person you’d ever meet. He is from Singapore, but ethnically Chinese, graduated from UMich with his M.A. in Public Health, super smart, super funny, super interesting. We like him! Obviously who my sister choses to be with is her choice, but we (read: my mom, all my family, my friends) can see that my sister is SO happy with him, and if she’s out ย there reading.. I just want her to know, he gets my thumbs up.ย 

dscn1817

We typically go up to Albany to my Grandparents house on Christmas eve, but both my sister and I wanted more time at home this year, so we decided to drive up on Christmas day. My mom and I went to church on Christmas eve, and it was STANDING ROOM ONLY. We didn’t mind too much, and I actually hopped up on a heater so I didn’t have to stand on my hip the whole time. (The hip is doing very well btw! Week two update to come soon!) There was this ADORABLE ย baby next to us being held by her dad.. I can’t wait to be a mom!!

We drove up early on Christmas morning so we could help my grandma set table and get all the food ready for the rest of our family coming. It was a pretty small group this year – only 17 in all. We were missing three cousins, one aunt, one uncle, and a few “extra” people that usually come. It was still a blast, and the greatest part was just being able to sit and talk and catch up with my family. ย I haven’t seen most of them since July.. and I won’t see them again until the spring semester is over and I’m back in MN. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Ahh I have so many great pictures from Christmas, but they’re on my mom’s camera and she’s out and has it with her right now. I promise I’ll put some up later!

There are only a few of my old high school friends that I still keep in touch with.. and to be honest, I love it that way. One of my favorite things about college is you don’t really have those “obligatory” friends anymore. You know – “I have to invite her because she’s friends with Liz and …” or someone who’s on the team but you were never close with. Haha, I know, I’m a terrible person. :/ Anyways, the friends that I have kept in touch with are solid quality friends – people I know I can count on at any time, even from half way across the country. These are the only friends that I do gift exchanges with over the holiday season. (Plus, lets be honest.. I def. do not have $$ to give to EVERYONE. Sorry!) With one of my friends, I made this adorable little “spa day” basket + a Panera gift card. We’re going to the gym and making a whole day out of it – work out a little, sauna, hot tub, freshly shaved legs – all the girly stuff.. followed by lunch at Panera (of course)! She gave me a gorrgeous photo of her because I don’t have ANY out in Boston (except some in a collage), a homemade tye-dye shirt, and this year’s Cities 97 Sampler!! My other great friend and I usually just write each other a letter, and that’s sort of what we did this year. It always means so much to read, and they’re infused with photos and jokes.. plus I gave her a coffee outting on me. LOL.. it ensures we’ll make another date while I’m home on break! My dad and I also do a “mini-Christmas”, and we did that last Monday! Twas fabulous. ๐Ÿ˜€

Since I can’t put up any photos from this Christmas, I’ll leave you with one from one day over my never ending x-mas break last year. It was an official snow day, and my mom took this of me in our back alley as we were walking down to Dunn Bros Coffee shop. Props to them for even staying open.. there was soo much snow!ย 

n500695865_33244_4418

And in the photo – my favorite bag ever. If I ever lose that thing, I’d be devastated. It was the first “nice” bag I ever got, and by nice, I mean.. like over $25. It’s just Fossil.. and I love it. I’m definitely one of those girls who can’t even fathom spending $$$ on a Coach bag or something. It’s a purse! Hahah.. what a goof. Anyways, I’ll be back tomorrow with a full “Week TWO” update. I GET TO SWIM TOMORROW!!

8 Responses

  1. Sounds like a wonderful Christmas at HOME! Family and friends is what it’s all about and sounds like you had a wonderful abundance of both! Fabulous! And I’m glad your hip is continuing to do well! God Bless!

  2. What a great Christmas! I totally hear you on the high school “obligatory” friends thing. It’s also why I’m totally happy that my family moved to Arizona – spending time with them is most important to me over break!

    You look gorgeous in that picture! And I love the bag!

  3. NICE COAT! ๐Ÿ™‚ super cuteeee! i love furry hoods!

  4. what a great christmas!!!

    glad you’re healing well!

  5. Hey!
    Glad x-mas went well & ur hip is healing good ๐Ÿ˜€ How are those gluteal squeezes now?! (Maybe thats in the week 2 update?!)
    Lookin forward to seeing some pics (although u do look super pretty in that one!)
    Hope u dont mind but Ive added you to my blogroll ๐Ÿ˜€
    Hugs x
    http://www.sparklingstar.wordpress.com

  6. Good to hear xmas was awesome, as it should be! Its so nice bein home isnt it? Back to the grind for this kid, but with a new garmin ๐Ÿ˜‰

  7. *reappears as well* HIiiiiiiiiii SPERL!!!!!!! Omg, what a cute snowy Sperly!!!! AMAZINGNESS!!!!!!!!! And sounds like you had a pretty fun Christmas!!! I just posted pics of my Christmas goodies!!! The bf treated me GOOD!!!! ๐Ÿ™‚ And OMG YAY SWIMMING!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  8. Hey Sis,
    Weiwen and I just read your message. I’m thrilled that you’ve given him your vote in such nice terms. I really regret that we did not have more time together. He and I are in such a state of transition, as are you, that it was really hard for me to be in the moment.
    I also got your voicemail. I’ll catch you up on the DC story when I have some more privacy. Suffice to say, “We’re going! We’re really doin’ it!” I hope you come to see us.
    Love,
    Ry

Leave a Reply

