post surgery – week one…

Arighty.. I’m editing this each day.. so if things change tenses from present to past and I’m confusing, sorry! I’ll post it at the end of “week one”. Here’s a little rundown on how things have gone since surgery:

Monday – Surgery in the A.M. Slept most of the rest of the day. Got to go off of the IV drip by that evening, and finally figured out that pain medications are there for a reason – if it hurts, take them.

Tuesday – Physical therapy at 10:30 am. Was supposed to have a second session at 2:00, but she said I was doing so well with the crutches that I didn’t need it. Well, me and the sticks had a pretty exclusive relationship goin’ on earlier this year, so I’d say yeah – I got em’ down. Left the hospital mid afternoon.. came home to a nonfunctioning heater = I had to relocate to upstairs = I mastered the up-stairs.

Wednesday – Definitely the worst day pain wise. Dr. Truong said it was gonna be though, so at least I knew what was coming. I stayed on the futon the better part of the day.. slept on and off. Worked on some Christmas presents.. worked on an essay.. nothing better to do! Took the Vicodin and Vistaril each every for hours, but I staggered the Vistaril so it was two hours after the Vicodin. Seemed to work OK. My sister and her BF and my dad finally got here from Michigan!

Thursday – Still feeling a good bit of pain in the morning, but feeling much better as the day went on. An old friend who’s home from school at ASU came over in the afternoon and we just talked and caught up for like 4 hours. First attempt at getting out of the house – we went to CostCo. I would like to think it was semi-successful. 

Friday – My mom noted that I was moving a lot better. I started doing alternating feet on the stairs (versus always stepping down with my right.. you know, like you do when you’re little..) although I was using a LOT of support from the railing and wall. Easier to do going down than up, and scary at first, but once I did it once it became easier. I’m figuring out all these little systems to do things. 😉 PT exercises going well, except for some reason I can’t do the gluteal squeezes AT ALL on the left side. ?? It’s like the muscle isn’t responding. Despite the Vistaril (which is supposed to be a muscle relaxer) my left thigh is still really tight. Didn’t realize it until I was doing the thigh squeezes that are part of my PT, and realized I couldn’t contract my left thigh muscle because it ALREADY was contracted! Watched a great good movie, The Squid and the Whale, although I hated the ending and hated several parts in the middle. Hahah but aside from those, it was good. 😀

Saturday – Lots better! Big milestone – slept on my stomach for part of the night! It’s hard because I’ve ALWAYS slept on my left side, which is obviously a no-can-do right now. Sleeping on my stomach lets me relax my leg muscles a little. Another big milestone – I SHOVELED!! I never thought that sentence would end with exclamation marks, but it was great. I felt really good in the morning, and promised my mom that if it hurt at all, or felt “off”, I would stop right away and come in. Well let me tell you.. I shoveled our whole entire corner lot plus both walkways and the front steps. And it was fabulous. Plus, the fresh air felt sooo good in my lungs! Ahhh before long, I’ll be RUNNNNING! 😀 Back at CostCo today, but I used the electric cart [with success] this time. Didn’t want to do too much on my feet all in one day.

Sunday – Ohh such a roller coaster. Daily milestone: slept on my side. Not my surgery side of course.. but I put a pillow between my legs so my knee and hip were supported, and it worked pretty well. I also am taking the meds less frequently. I got to/had to shovel again this morning (it snowed for 14 hours straight yesterday!) and that still felt good. It was WAYY colder today than yesterday though, and I don’t know if that affects how my bones feel? Anyways, was fine until about noon, when I started feeling sick to my stomach. We left for CostCo (again.. damn Christmas card is more work than it’s worth!) and didn’t end up coming home until 4:45, and I felt sicker than ever. Which is where I’m sitting right now, on the couch, like I’m about to throw up. If something has to hurt, I’m glad it’s my stomach and not my hip. Still can’t seem to do the gluteal squeeze on the left side.. other PT exercises are going well. 

And because I need to post something, here is the dang Christmas card that I made that has been so much trouble to print. Grrr. But they’re finally done, and they look pretty. My mom, myself, and my sister. 

christmas-card-2008_jpeg

Love yall,
-E

6 Responses

  1. cute christmas card!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    i hope your recovery time improves and you feel much better soon!!!!!!!

  2. i love day-by-day play-by-play!!! hehehe. nice job getting back so quickly, can you go to the NU training room to do PT? when i was rehabbing my ACL reconstruction i lived at midd’s training room and pt was actually so much fun cuz it is so purposeful and i think it’s better if you have some support/supervision/ etc. BEAUTIFUL picture!!! i adore the color of your hair:) it’s pretty close in color to your mom’s huh? happy holidays!

  3. Awww fun!!!!!!!!!! And you’re a Cost-co FREAK!!!! We don’t have them here so I don’t understand the magic. But YAY for getting better!!!!! ❤

  4. I love the christmas card!

  5. Hey girl, it’s been a while since I’ve popped in.
    I just wanted to say that it’s great to see you are recovering so well and have such an upbeat attitude with all that you have been through. I can really understand all the PT and hospital visits you are having to make – my dad was in a serious car accident a year and a half ago and has been working at it ever since to get back to normal. He had hip replacement surgery a month ago, but is now walking unassisted for the first time in over a year. It’s amazing what the body can do and it really teaches you how much you nee to appreciate the body you got.
    Keep up the good spirits and I only wish a speedy recovery. Cute Christmas card, too!

  6. hey erika! i am so glad that your surgery went well and that you are in recovery mode. hopefully things have continued to improve the past few days 🙂 i know it sounds soooo cliche to say this, but whenever i am injured, i always repeat to myself, “this, too, shall pass.” you WILL get better and this injury will teach you a lot about yourself as a runner and what you can handle. maybe 60-80 miles/week isn’t in the cards for a while, but 55 is! you can make that go a long way.

    stay strong, sister 🙂

Leave a Reply

