putting a stop to the slacking on a special day!

Talk about slacking! Last post.. November 18th? Haha no wonder my blog stats suck so much!

Well.. what can I say? College is busy. A lot has happened since last time – way too much for one post to catch up on – but the longer I wait, the more stuff goes on, and if anyone is even still out there reading, I feel an obligation to keep you guys updated. 😉 Not to mention.. today’s my birthday, so I have to post something! Since last last Friday…

 

  • I champed a world arch final. I hope
  • I finally got my pre-med schedule figured out
  • My dad came!!
  • My sister came!!
  • We THANKSGIVINGed it up a bit
  • Boston was adventured
  • JP Licks was enjoyed
  • Both of them left, and all the roommates returned

I stuck around over our Thanksgiving break and my my dad and sister flew out out to spend time here with me. My sister has never been to Boston before, so it was really nice to show her the city, not to mention where “home” is for me out here! We went to Faneuil Hall, the North End, all over Back Bay, the extents of the T.. it was fun! We didn’t really have SET plans any given day, which was super nice because we didn’t feel pressure to do anything, but at the same time, we could do everything!

dscn1595_2

We actually cooked a legit thanksgiving dinner in my dorm! If you’ve seen my dorm.. I guess that’s not that much of a surprise though – it’s like a full apartment! My dad and sister ate Turkey, and I had my Quorn counterpart! 😀 We also had winter squash, this rice dish, fresh veggies, cranberry sauce, pumpkin pudding, and pumpkin bread.

dscn1585

I’m super close with my family.. and I was worried about them coming, because coming, also means leaving. My dad kept reminding me that I’m going to be home in just TWO weeks. I know it’s such a short time and it’s going to pass in the blink of an eye, but that didn’t stop me from crying the whole walk back from Ruggles. Uugggh. 

I was responsible for taking tons of photos while my sister was here so I can send one to my mom for a christmas card. Unfortunately.. most of the photos we did take ended up in stuff like this:

dscn1592

I think I have one that’s a winner though.. so we’re OK. 

Big pet peeve: basically EVERYTHING was closed this break.. the student center, library, all the Wollasten’s, our Au Bon Pan, but most annoyingly, the Marino and Cabot. Hence my expenditure of $toomuchmoney$ at the YMCA this week – it’s $10 for a day pass! 😯 Thennnn both yesterday and today there was a problem with the chlorine levels, and the pool was closed. PISSED. I got a refund though for one of my day passes, and the other time I just used their bikes since I was already there. But.. good news:

POOL. NEW SWIM SUIT. BDAY. YESSSS 😀

I have been in dire need of a new swimsuit.. the one I have been using was my old racing suit from when I was on the swim team in high school.. and I just realized a couple weeks ago that it was getting a little thin. Oops! So we set out on search for a new swim suit.. and of course we ended up at the glorious:

I. Love. City. Sports. If my bank account was bottomless.. I can guarantee the first place I’d go is City Sports. But seriously? When the HELL did swimsuits get so expensive? I’m a decent swimmer.. but I’m no Michael Phelps. I don’t really need some aquadynamic suit that is going to shave .0172 seconds off my 100. I just want a decent suit that doesn’t make me super pasty, and one that will hold up to the aquajogging belt being strapped around there every day. And I found my love:

 

Northeastern colors and all. 🙂 I’m so happy our pool and gym are back open to normal hours tomorrow.. but definitely NOT excited to get back to the daily grind of classes. I have a final and an “exam” (but not a “final”.. right) and a final presentation in studio all on the 9th. HOLY. WOW. Until then.. just working, working, working. One year older.. same story. Haha I wonder where I’ll be 10 years from now? Probably still in school.. most definitely still in debt.. only time will tell! 

I think my next post will be about tips and advice for pool running.. a lot of people are really aprehensive about it because they try it and it doesn’t “feel” like running or they think they’re doing it wrong, and then they just give up. Well I’m not expert, but I’ve been doing it for a LONG time now.. so I thought I’d share a lil bit of what I do and how I get by in the pool. Until then.. hope everyone is staying warm, dry, happy, and healthy. See ya soon!

9 Responses

  1. welcome back!

    pool running sounds way hard…
    hope you are recovering well!

  2. good to hear from you! such a cute picture of you and your dad. awww. what’s the weather like back where you’re from? comparably cold?

  3. Hey ! happy birthday! this is my 1st time on yo blog and i read a little about ur injuries.. what are they due to?

  4. I was so happy to see a new post! Happy Birthday! 🙂

    I hope you’re doing well. I’m glad you had a nice Thanksgiving with the fam!

  5. Whatever you say, that’s still my favorite from our set of ones we sent to Mum. 😀

  6. Happy Belated Bday Sperly. Stop making me miss Beantown so much!

    Glad you had a nice Thanksgiving too!

  7. Happy Bday!! Yay Boston, I love it here and couldn’t imagine living anywhere else. Thats annoying that all the school places were closed during break!

  8. sounds like you had an awesome time with your fam. i’m jealous!

    hang in there champ… its almost christmas break. we’ll make it.

  9. Hi!

    http://www.swimoutlet.com is a GREAT place to buy suits for cheap. Suits in stores are wicked expensive – now that you know your size you can get them online!

    Happy Healing.

Leave a Reply

