a lil Tuesday inspiration…

Definitely was struggling with a case of the Mondays yesterday.. I found this quote though last weekend, and it really brought me out of my lil mood swing. I thought I’d share, in case anyone else is finding themselves down n out today. 

Some people are not going to like you no matter what you do or what you say. Get over it and get on with life.

Some of your efforts are not going to bring the results you were after. Accept it and find another approach.

Occasionally you’ll be distracted and knocked off course for a while. On a regular basis, life will have its disappointments.

Those disappointments and distractions do not have to stop you. In fact, you can choose to let them inspire you and to push you forward.

No matter what has just happened, you are free in this moment to act with positive purpose. Whether the past has worked in your favor or not, the future is yours to create as you wish.

Life is too important to waste it feeling sorry for yourself or beating yourself up. Get up and get on with life, and make it match your highest expectations.

— Ralph Marston

I donno who Ralph Marston is.. but amen to that.

Happy Tuesday folks!

5 Responses

  1. Hey I’m in a similar situation as you. I am a 20 year old girl with severe osteoporosis. I was diagnosed with a sacral stress fracture and took 7 months off running– when I started my return to run program I fractured the other side of my sacrum after only 3 weeks. I understand how frustrating and scary these health problems are. Every doctor I have seen has advised me against the bonebuilding medicines because there are no long term study on the effects of these drugs on young girls. If you don’t mind me asking– what drugs are your physicians recommending?

  2. M.E. – I don’t mind you reading at all! At least I know someone’s still READING. 🙂

    At this point, my doctors aren’t recommending any sort of medication other than making sure I’m routinely taking my Calcium and Vit. D supplements. I think what you might be referring to is when I said “bone growth stimulator”. By that I meant the little machines that use electric current to attempt to stimulate production of new bone.

    My bone density throughout the rest of my body is actually fairly decent – within the “normal” range at least. It’s just this section in my hip with the fibrous dysplasia that’s weaker than normal. No course of action is set in stone YET. Do you mind if I ask what you did to try and build up bone mass? Did you take medication? Did they just say take time off to let the fractures heal? How did they decide when you could return to running?

    Thanks for reading!

    -E

  3. My Thursday confession:
    I don’t like school anymore. At least at the undergraduate level. And what of school that I still like, I read no more than 30% of the assigned readings. And I’m stellar. You know why? Because the education isn’t just in the classroom.

  4. i am also a 25 year old with osteoporosis. it is so scary to be diagnosed with conditions like this at such a young age!

    just so you know…i don’t know much about your condition, but it really think will get better, and eventually not be the only thing you can think about every second of every day. i thought it would just consume me forever, but as time goes on, it has taken up less and less of my thoughts.

    hope a little holiday r&r helps your rollercoaster of emotions! i definitely know how that feels!

  5. Ok, so this comment is to both this entry and the last.

    LOVE that quote.

    And GO DR. SPERL!!!!!!!!! I hope to be Dr. V one day as well.

    And…um…are you a Grey’s fan?!?!?!?!?!? Omg….I made a grey’s station on Pandora!!! Want a link?!?!?!?!?

    ❤ GO SPERL!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

