Paging Dr. Sperl-Imhoff…

Friday again! It was a quick week, especially with the day off on Tuesday for Veterans Day. It was a nice break since it was only the 2nd day we’ve had off since the beginning of the year. Well, once again – I’m sitting in World Arch right now, so I’m gonna keep this post short and sweet to the point.. here we go!

Hip Update:

Um. Nothing. Pretty much status quo here. I am a little frustrated because the surgeon in Minneapolis called, and of course I was in class so he had to leave a message. I called back and left a message with his secretary. She said he’d call me back. He hasn’t called me back. Gaaah.

I sent my doctor here an email asking if I could come in for a follow-up appointment. My mom sent him an email. She sent another email. Neither of us have heard back. Aaah!

Aright.. I get that both of these men are highly regarded and very busy. But shouldn’t I get a response within a week? Yes, right? I’m just starting to feel really desperate because for some reason, this last week I hit the realization that surgery should be a last resort. I would much rather take another month or so off now than have surgery and not be back on my feet until June. Maybe I’m just getting scared, but I really don’t want to have surgery (duh) and don’t want to jump the gun here. 

PLUS… both doctors were supposed to talk about me using a bone growth stimulator. And if I’m gonna use it, I want to get started as soon as possible. Everyone I’ve talked to who has used one said they wish they started using it sooner. Where did my doctors go? This is really unusual of them – I’ve always gotten responses right away either by phone or email, so I’m just not sure what to think right now. Out of town? I feel like the secretary would have called me back…

School Update:

I’m getting so excited for my major change. Did I talk about that yet? I think so.. but if not – I’m officially pre med!! Actually, not officially until the start of the spring semester I guess, but it’s official in my book! I register on Monday, which is possibly the most stressful experience EVER. Is that just me, or is it really stressful for all you other college kids too? I literally lose sleep over it. I have a pretty set schedule of what I need to take next semester, since I’m basically a semester behind everyone else. Damn architecture. 😉 Luckily I had all my general core classes covered with all my transfer credits from the University of Minnesota.. but that also means I will have zero electives until.. forever. I’m going to be in school till I’m like 30. And I’m SO EXCITED! 😀 I don’t have the times squared away yet, but next semester I’ll be taking:

  • BIO 111 – General Bio 1
  • BIO 112 – Lab
  • CHM 211 – General Chem
  • CHM 212 – Lab
  • PSY 101 – Foundations of Psychology
  • BHS 105 – Nutrition

I’m gonna be Dr. Sperl-Imhoff. Yessssir.

Don't you see the resemblance?

Other News…

My dad and sister are coming out on the 26th for Thanksgiving, and staying till the 30th (which is my birthday!!) and I can’t WAIT for them to get here! Unfortunately we wont’ be doing as much trekking around as my dad and I did when we were out here last January, but it should still be tons of fun. I’m so excited to see them, especially since I’ve been feeling a little homesick this last week. I really miss my mom too, but she was out here mid October for parents weekend, and I’ll get to see her in a month at Christmas. It’s good to break it up a little, so I’m happy with the way we set this up. 

 

Thanksgiving!

Thanksgiving!

 

 

Pool running has been going well.. but one of my best friends who goes is going to be returning to running soon. Like tomorrow soon. I’m obviously really happy for her, but sad that I wont see her as much. 

I’ve been keeping up the group fitness classes at the Marino. I took Pilates yesterday, but unfortunately I gotta say I won’t be taking that again. It just wasn’t that challenging. I loved the pilates I did at home for all the core work it gave me, but this class didn’t really incorporate much of that at all. I took spinning again this morning (60min class this time – woo!), and I’m still liking that the best of the group classes. I’m pretty limited in what I can take, since all the other classes are like jumping around cardio that probably wouldn’t be a good idea for my little fractured friend FemoralNeck. So. Spinning it is. And abs.. I’ll keep that one too, even though it isn’t that hard – the teacher is a ton of fun.

Haha I just wrote for half of this class period. I will say though, I am quite an efficient multi-tasker. I’m still pullin an A in this class, and I’ve been doing this all semester. 😀 One more thing before I leave, as is tradition here on Fridays. BTW.. when I wrote this last week, you guys were supposed to add your OWN confessions! I can’t be the only one being a little bad all week..

Friday Confessional:

  1. I conveniently scheduled my advising appointment to be right in the middle of class yesterday, leaving me unable to attend. Mind you, I’m rockin an A in there too.. everyone needs a break once in a while. 😉
  2. I skipped Students for Environmental Action (it’s just a club.. not a class) when I said I’d be there to take Pilates last night. Too bad pilates blowed..
  3. Hmm.. I guess I really haven’t done that much this week. Good! Hahah I’m sure I’ll think of more as the day goes on.. 
4 Responses

  1. Hey girl. I hope you’re injury isn’t giving you too much shenanigans, I know how that goes. Just don’t explode with all the frustration.
    Anyway, I was wondering if you wouldn’t mind sharing your thoughts on Northeastern? I applied there and eagerly await my early-action January notification, and some insider insight would be great about now… How does it compare to University of Minnesota? I visited there, thought about applying – I have a lot of family there – but decided against it.
    Thanks for anything you’ve got,
    Take care darlin’.

    Hey! Oh.. it’s causing quite a few shenanigans for sure.. but I’m workin around them.

    Re: Northeastern. I LOVE it! First of all, Boston is an amazing city. The fact that NU is actually IN Boston (as opposed to BU or BC) is key. You can get anywhere and everywhere on the T, and there is always something to do, whether it is in the city or on campus.

    CAMPUS is also amazing. Compared to the U of MN, where the city basically runs through campus, NU has it’s OWN campus that is (for the most part) closed off to the city, while still being in the city itself. There are always campus events going on if you don’t want to go out. NU is also very diverse – not at all what I expected going to school on the east coast. I’m so grateful though.. coming from a city school where I was in the minority the whole time.

    Size wise.. NU is about half of the U of MN. And HALF makes a big difference when you’re talking some 25,000 less kids. None of my classes are so huge that I just feel like a number, and to be honest I did get that a bit at the U of MN in some of my classes.

    Are you applying for undergrad or grad? What are you intending on majoring in? Most of my family is in MN too.. and at times I DO get homesick, but the way I had to look at it was, Minneapolis will always be there for me should I choose to go back. It’s not goin anywhere any time soon. I’m SO happy I made the choice I did.. even now that I’m switching majors. If you have any specific questions feel free to ask away!

  2. Hey, great blog, thanks for sharing it with me on the RW forums. I was out for the last 2 weeks, I can’t even imagine what you’re going through. Just stay positive!

  3. I am so! happy to see you soon!

    There’s a lot more I could write here, but I’ll save it.

    Peace, Joy, and Love,
    Sis

  4. Hey! I have lurking over your blog for the past few days! I have had a tibial stress fracture since May and I am still in the boot and its what…november?! anyways, I know its hard to find extra stress relievers and a way to clear your mind. I am a junior in college and I know how stress can beat you down! You are a strong girl! Try to hang out and socialize with your friends as much as possible as an extra stress reliever! Try to stay positive..and take it one day at a time!

Leave a Reply

