melt downs.. to the Next Michael Phelps

Heyyyy kids.

Yesterday was basically nuts.. culminating with me in panic-mode, once again. In studio, all the sudden the profs were like “OK, put this into Adobe and save it as a PDF and go print so you can start your diagrams.” There are several problemas with this situation:

 

  1. I don’ have Adobe. No one told us we needed to already have Adobe. 
  2. Adobe costs a lot of money. A LOT.
  3. We needed it by Monday. It was already Monday.
  4. Even if I had all the money in the world to just drop on software, our bookstore doesn’t sell the physical CDs. You have to order it, and then it is shipped.
  5. Shipping takes time. Time fails the Monday requirement aforementioned in #3.

 

Not to mention this was at the end of an already overwhelmingly long day. It was like 10:30 when I called my dad, while I was simultaneously trying to write note cards to study for a test that was this morning. (Didn’t find out about it until last night – don’t give me that disapproving “typical college kid” look!)

I ended up finding an older version of Adobe Creative Suite (3rd edition.. not 4) and I bought it through our school’s partner tech site, so I got a student discount. I also got the Standard version (which I swear they made seem like it wasn’t even available) versus the more extensive (read: expensive) one. I overnighted it in hopes that it will get here at least by tomorrow morning. Long story short: lots of money saved (sans the $30 next day shipping charge) and I’ve learned by now I can’t stress about it anymore because I have no control over the situation from this point on.

 

photo from Chen Xin. Im actually excited for the software to come though..!

photo from Chen Xin. I'm actually excited for the software to come though..!

 

 

Oh.. and that test? I either champed it, or failed miserably. It was in my Honors History of World Arch class.. and the last question asked us to diagram the Temple of Horus at Edfru, along with what year it was built. I wasn’t even sure if Edfru was one of the Egyptian sites, or if it was one from the Mesopotamian region.. but I did remember something about hypostyle halls and clerestory windows.. and I knew the basic layout of all these sites.. so I just started drawing the one I thought was right. Looking at my notes once I got back, I saw I got it right! But the year.. hahah lets just say I was about a millennium off. Oops!

 

Pylon at Temple of Horus

Pylon at Temple of Horus

 

 

All my shifts for work this week are at the Cabot center.. grrrr. I love being at the Marino cause it’s always so busy and you always see all the people you know.. but Cabot is way less busy. The Cabot center is our building for all the varsity athletics, and the sports med center, and then it also has the pool. So yea.. I guess I shouldn’t complain when the guys varsity swim team comes in..

OH. And speaking of the pool:

I’ve been not running for a little bit due to a possible stress fracture (or two). I’m waiting on some MRI and xray results..  but until then I’m not going to [possibly] prolong my return to running. If it’s not a stress fracture, it’s a stress reaction, which would LEAD to a stress fracture if I kept running on it the way it was – something I don’t need. So I’ve made friends with the pool.  I only did 2000 yards today because that’s what I had time for, but here’s an example of my pool workouts for anyone else on the DL (or just looking to cross train).

 

  • 500 warm-up (I usually alternate free/back every 50 yards)
  • 3×100 kick (free, breast, back)
  • 4×50 pull (free, breast, free, breast)
  • 3×150 medley build (free, back, breast. hah.. like how I cut out the fly?)
  • 3×100 build (free, breast, free)
  • 250 cool down

 

I usually stay away from the pool cause I HATE being cold. But today I found myself looking forward to it. It was actually like a legit excited. I feel like I’ve still kept a lot of my good swimming skills from when I used to be on the team (wayyy back when), so I kinda feel like a BAMF when I get out of the pool or pull a flip turn.

Aright. Off to work. Seee ya!

Husky Staff!

[EDIT EDIT EDIT]

Back from work.. maybe I DON’T mind working at Cabot! It’s a lot slower than the Marino.. but I basically got paid to watch the Twins vs. White Sox game. And I think I ingested about 30,000 calories worth of Varsity eye candy. Gooood night. 😉

I responded to the comments on the latest two posts two.. sorry for slackin on that! My response is in bold 🙂

8 Responses

  1. Oh gosh, I hope your MRI comes back okay!

    You and me both!

  2. Hey! I’ve been a lurker for awhile and thought I’d finally comment. I hope the SFs are negative and that you’re back and running soon. Reading your blog makes me miss running and miss my college team. If you’re healthy would you consider running with the NU team or are focusing on longer stuff instead?
    -Amanda

    Hey – thanks for commenting!! I’ve thought about running for NU.. but I’m gonna do a longer post about that later on I suppose..

    I DO really miss having a team though!

  3. you’ll um have to introduce me to the varsity swim team sometime. is that bad? i graduated… i’m an awful person

    Hhaha.. most of Northeastern’s programs are 5 years anyways.. our “seniors” woulda graduated anyways.. 🙂

  4. Wow, girl looks like you’ve been busy. And good for you being smart on that injury. I hope everything comes out okay…

    And Varsity Swim team? Jump on that. I wouldn’t be complaining either – in fact if I got the chance to swim at the same time as them, I’d be more than okay with swimming, even when it’s cold (cause i hate cold too)!

    Hahha I WISH I got to swim at the same time as them! They’re just all in Cabot while I’m there.. and the basketball team.. and track.. and baseball.. and 😀

  5. Eek– hope the injury heals fast. At least it sounds like you’re busy enough for it not to drive you crazy! I’ve been swimming, too, and I would feel so much cooler doing it if I could pull off that darned flip turn…

  6. Ohh man I hope everthing works out with your foot.. I had the same thign happen and I started to swim too but I was not very good at it… i could only stand ot be in the pool for like 40 min… that workout looks lik eit would take longer than 40 min.. well for me hahah
    I just got a mac too I need to start using the calander thing you use!

  7. Thanks for reading my blog!

    I know what you mean about Boston, I was in it a lot when I lived in CT and always loved it! I know it has a lot to offer, but I just want to be back in my hometown. 🙂

  8. ERIKA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I EXIST!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Gosh I have missed you and RW so much!!! Grad school ate my life!!!!

    EEEK stress fracture!!!! *crosses fingers and says prayers for you*

Leave a Reply

