loving life..

You may not have been waiting for this.. but I have!

“This is your last chance. After this, there is no turning back. You take the blue pill – the story ends, you wake up in your bed and believe whatever you want to believe. You take the red pill – you stay in Wonderland and I show you how deep the rabbit-hole goes.” (You know the movie..)

But really, all I wanted to do was make sure I wasn’t taking a blood thinner..

Steady’s on the East Bank of the U of MN campus. We first went to Uptown tattoo, but their waiting list is out until mid November. They’re really that good. But the owner at Uptown recommended Steady to us.. so to Steady we went!

When we went in for the consult, they took a photo for us so we could have it done to scale. They also let us do a little photo shop to make it look the way we wanted.. πŸ˜€ If only you could do that in life!

I’m really glad I went first.. watching first probably would have made me really nervous. I didn’t look at the equipment or anything before hand – same with when I got my belly button pierced. (On my 13th birthday! If I saw a 13 year old today with her belly button pierced, I’d say she’s too young, and doesn’t need that kind of thing yet. Hah.. mom – do you regret letting me make that decision?)

The “trial” to make sure it’s in the right place. It was strategically placed to have both hands on the opposite sides of my clavicle. Med students? Am I right? Or was that just made up..?

It really didn’t hurt as much as I thought it would. It did feel different than I had imagined though – more like he was cutting the design into me, whereas I had pictured more of a continuous-bee-sting type feeling. Wow. Either one of those options sounds terrible!

Getting close to finishing..

Well let me tell you.. that’s not red ink. It will obviously settle down though. And the vein in my dads hand will look less pronounced when the irritation dies down too. I honestly couldn’t be happier.

Your turn! You were wondering who “we” was referring to, huh? OK.. no more captions for every photo – I’ll let the pictures tell the story.

A complete set.

I really want everyone to know that this is something my dad and I have talked about doing for a LONG TIME. In no way was it just like “hey.. let’s get tattoos.” We both thought long and hard before we came up with the design, and where to go. Being the typical type-A person that I am, I don’t think there is any part of the process or aftermath that I didn’t run through my head before hand. I am very aware that a tattoo is permanent, and anyone considering having one done should realize that too. Just a few days ago this lady (who looked to be mid 60s, mind you) came into my work in this rhine-studded tank top, with “NICE RACK” tattooed across her chest. WOW.

I asked Rodger (the tattoo artist who did both mine and my dad’s) if he ever had to do a tattoo for someone that he just knew they’d regret down the line. He said he doesn’t have to do any tattoo – as an artist he has the right to refuse any proposal. But he also said that when people come to him to have work done, you have to realize that they are “adults” and have the right to make choices for themselves. Good choices? Not always.. but the right is theirs.

Oh.. and the design? I am not even going to attempt to try and explain it. It obviously looks like a pinky promise, but to be honest it means nothing like it. It’s just me. And dad. And it always has been, and always will be.

So. Thank you so much Rodger – you did a phenomenal job! I really would recommend him to anyone. I am off to the Cabin (my Uncle’s actually) on Lake George for Friday/Saturday/Sunday to put a great end on my summer! Unfortunately there will be no water tubing or swimming (lake water = not super sterile), but there will be plenty of watermelon eating and bonfire action and family time, which is already better than anything I could ask for. Then I come back and pack my butt off – I still have so much left to do! Have a lovely weekend everyone!

15 Responses

  1. Wow! You are brave! So neat that you got it with your Dad. I love seeing fathers and daughters who have such great relationships… it’s a rare thing!

    Thanks Emma! I’ve always been really close with my dad (and my mom.. but separately). I know you have a really tight relationship with your mom too, so you know how it is!
    -E

  2. i love it!! wow such a great bond you and your dad have! i can’t wait to see another pic of it once it heals. about the distance and the boyfriend…he and i just started dating in June once I got home from school, I have known him since freshman year of college(almost 3 yrs) and he and I always had an attraction/interest in each other but I dated my ex bf during the entire time I knew (new boy), and he had a gf when I first met him. I broke up w/ ex bf in march right before coming home for spring break. When I was home for SB I spent a lot of time w/ (new boy) and we kept in contact while I was away. I think distance is hard because it separates you and also brings you closer because you really miss the person and appreciate your time when you are with them. I only have 1 more year at school in seattle and boy only has one more year in Berkeley(CAL) so we are going to try and make it work. This will be my first time doing the distance thing so I am not even sure what to expect. He starts school next week and I dont start for a month, so the distance is going to happen quickly because right now at home we live an hour from Berkeley(10min for each other) We are just going to take it slow and concentrate on our sports (he rows for CAL) and see how it turns out. He is planning on working for an accounting firm in San Fran after graduation…so I might go to grad school there.
    SORRY that was so long and I am not sure if I answered your question. message me back if I’m way off on info you were wondering. Are you about to do the long-distance thing?? I always hear bad things about it, but I don’t think it will be so hard.
    Love your tattoo…have fun at the lake!!!

    Wow Lizzy! Thanks for taking time to respond to that! I really hope things work out for you two. I’m sure it’ll help that you both have sports to keep you busy, plus the fact that you both only have one year left!

    I don’t know if you saw my USD/USF comment.. but I LOVED USD. I never visited USF though, so I can’t compare!
    -E

  3. Congratulations! You just look so calm getting it done. Please give us more pictures once the area has healed completely. That looks like terrific artistry. So Rodger actually created the design from an actual photo of your hand & your dad’s? Very, very cool.

    Totally not tat-related, but: wow! you have some supa-dupa strong legs in that picture on the table. Go running!

    I think I was nervous, but I’ve always been pretty good at faking myself out about things. You’d be surprised how well telling yourself “it’s no biggie” works (think track – 15×400 repeats)!

    And thanks for the leg comment! I’d be pretty bummed if after how many miles I had nothing to show for it =]

    -E

  4. My brother is an artist and when he was in high school he would design tatoos for his friends and go with them to the tatoo place. During one visit, there was a girl at the tatoo place that just finished getting a celtic symbol on her forhead, right between her eyes. As she was leaving, the tatoo artist said, “Welcome to the World of Unemployment.”

    Ouch.

    No joke! When I was looking through galleries before hand, I ran across one of this guy who got that triangle with the eye in the middle tattooed on his BALD SPOT directly on top of his head. Not a choice I would ever make.. but like I said – “adults” get to make their own decisions! =]
    -E

  5. That is a great tattoo. I love that you and your dad got it. That’s awesome!

    Enjoy the weekend and getting ready for your move to Boston. It’s been perfect running weather the past few days! πŸ™‚

    Good to hear.. because supposedly this coming winter is going to be loooong and cooold. Ick!

    -E

  6. Wow! I don’t think I could ever get a tattoo out of pure fear but more power to you girlie! It looks awesome. And I love how it’s even more special because now you’re Dad and you always have that to share πŸ™‚ Good luck moving in!

    It really wasn’t that bad..

    and thanks for the luck! I’m gonna need it!

    -E

  7. You are so brave, Erika!! Honestly, I would love to be able to do something like that with my dad to show how much our relationship means to one another. We definitely have our “thing” that I couldn’t even attempt to explain, too. Parents are just so wonderful, aren’t they?

    Parents = the greatest. And I realized you only get one set.. so you gotta love em as much as you can!

    Annd I just sounded like a complete cheese ball on public internet. Yesss. =]

    -E

  8. hello! I am new to minneapolis and just have to let you know I just tried the Tin Fish last weekend… I LOVE it! It must be crazy working there- it was really crowded.

    Do you have any tips to stay fit/keep running during the winter months? I heard about some indoor roller blading and rock climbing… what about running inside? Calhoun is beautiful now but I’m a little worried to say the least about the upcoming cold!

    Good luck in Boston! What a FUN city πŸ™‚ and I love to Tattoo! How special that the two of you can share that!

    So glad you liked the TF! You’ll have to go there once we bring the chowder back.. it’s stellar πŸ˜€

    Umm so winter months – I run outside all winter long. And yes.. it’s cold. If this is your first winter here, and you’re from a warmer state, it’ll definitely take getting used to. It takes a while to figure out how many layers you need and where you need em’, but once you get it down, it’s not bad. Not gonna lie though – Calhoun is my LEAST favorite lake to run in the winter. Something about it feels more barren than Harriet. You can join up with a run club! Shameless plug for the Running Room on 28th and Hennipen.. =] Lemme know if you have any questions!

    -E

  9. It’s so funny how you started off the opening of this post. Gotta love Morpheus with all his lines. haha.

    That’s so great that you and your dad have such a good relationship! I love how you two got a tattoo together. He seems so COOL! and both of you are so brave! My husband and I have been talking about getting tattoos for the loOOoongest time, but never went through with it. Every time we see a billboard for tattoo Expos we always make sure to verbalize it by saying, “let’s go!” haha.

    You guys should! They wouldn’t have to be matching or anything.. but just going through the experience together would be cool.

    -E

  10. Awww, Erika that’s SO awesome!!!!!! And check my blog. You play a major role in it today. πŸ™‚ Hehe.

    Bahahah.. Cort = BAMF.

    -E

  11. Wow, Sperly, it looks really good!

    Thaaaanks! Are you still around the Gen. Nut forum? I never post there anymore.. I should check it out soon. See if anything has changed.. πŸ˜‰

    -E

  12. That’s so fabulous that you and your father have new tattoos! I think it’s great that you both have this to show your bond.

    I have quite a few tattoos, and I have to say..it’s addicting!

    Hah.. getting my tattoo I was already thinking .. “what else could I get?” I don’t think it’s going to turn into that though.. at least no time soon. It took a loooong time for my dad and I to make this decision!

    -E

  13. hey erika! i saw your message on my blog–I’m going to be a senior at Tufts University and I come from Pittsburgh, PA.

    You’re going to LOVE Boston, there is so much to do and it’s such a fun city!

    I like your blog—I like running but am not nearly as hardcore as you are. Do you think you’re going to run the Boston Marathon this year? Tufts has a team so that the students don’t have to qualify, just raise money for charity. I’m considering doing it because running a marathon is something I would love to accomplish but I don’t know if I could motivate myself on my own, I think being part of a team is exactly what I need!

    I’m most DEFINITELY running Boston in 09! Granted that everything stays healthy and injury-free of course.. (fingers crossed!)

    I’m sure you could do it without a team, but not gonna lie – training partners are AWESOME! And it would be really cool to raise money for a good cause.

    Good luck with the beginning of the year!

    -E

  14. FYI That is the scapula-clavicle is anterior (collar bones). I just moved away from Boston and I must say I’m jealous you get to live near my old apt:) Good luck with school!

    Hah.. good to know! Any insider tips for the Back Bay/Symphony neighborhood?
    -E

  15. Hmm there is a little bodega on Clearway St off of Mass Ave that sells clothes in the back of this store that is set up to look like a random convenience store. I used to live on St Germain St and was so confused about the lines out the door on random days! Also I think you already tried out JP licks, but I miss that place more than anything:) Good luck at school, I hope you love living in Beantown as much as I did!

Leave a Reply

