Better days.. and a Macaroooo!

I wish EVERY day could start like this:

morning coffee + "Sneaky Pete's"

morning coffee + "Sneaky Pete's"

I promise I'm actually not that pale..

Shoes on and GO!

Unfortunately, today in Minneapolis is one of “those” days.. gray skies, drizzling rain, no sun in sight. Doubly unfortunate – this is my day off from work. My day’s off are usually filled with outdoor adventures, as I’ve posted about in the past, but today feels like one of those days when you just want to stay warm and dry. In memory of sunny days past, I will share with you a few photos of my adventure day off of work from last week šŸ˜€ Maybe it will be good karma and the sun will peak through..

goodies from aforementioned excursion

goodies from aforementioned excursion

I’m LOVING the new green backpack by the way.. definitely a good buy! I haven’t gone back to Opitz at all this week because I feel pretty set for clothes. Today though my mom and I have to make a run to SpendAllYourMoney and gather up quite a few things. Supposedly though, they’ll ship it all straight to my dorm, so that’s good. It’s terrible how pessimistic I am about this, but I can just foresee something going wrong. I’m moving ALONE.. so that has already put me in the mindset of “this isn’t gonna work”.. “I’m going to be the only one doing this alone” (which is partially true – my 5 other suitemates all have family members helping out. BUT they’re all from the east coast, so it’s not an extra flight for them).. “things are going to get lost”.. “FIVE flights of stairs – are you freaking kidding!?!”.. you get the picture. What I need to be thinking is:

  • This is going to work just FINE!
  • My mom’s coming in October!
  • Obviously you’ll forget something or something will get lost – it happens to everyone!

Hah – and if I can’t really get myself to think that, I can at least fake it! (I used to always do this for track workouts.. I’d tell myself all day “Yesss! I LOVE repeat 400s!”.. and by the time practice rolled around it really wasn’t that bad!) šŸ˜€

OH! So you’ve all seen photos of my laptop. I got it at the beginning of the last school year, and I pretty much love it. It’s an HP Pavillion dv2000.. “special edition” (read: it has a super pretty design on the cover and insides.. I don’t know if there’s anything else that sets it apart..). When I got it I sprung (sprang? wtf..) for all the bells and whistles, and the 3 year protection plan, and the (.. you get the point) .. because I thought this was going to last me for a long time! But being the brilliant student that I am, I didn’t think ahead to the fact that DUH most design students are on MACs.

Of course a school can’t say you’re REQUIRED to use a Mac.. but they “strongly recommend” it. Basically, what I read from the message was,

Please save yourself some face and save us the hassle of dealing with you trying to use a different system than everyone else. You will be the only one not using a Mac. So buy the Mac Macbook PRO. Now.

was white my only option? I wanted black..

was white my only option? I wanted black..

Yesssir. So within the next day or so, this lil guy, + iWorks (already installed thank god) + Windows for Macs + a free touch iPod + a macbook sleeve should be arriving in the mail. So my question for all of YOU is this: who is on a Mac? Do you like it? Is it really different than an HP? Is it better/worse? Any design students out there using it? What do you think?

I’ve basically been against iPods since the day they were created, so I’ll most likely be selling this one as well. I sold the other Shuffle I won at that race a while back too. Anyone in need of an iPod? šŸ˜‰

Wellll I think it’s time for me to move onto other things on my ToDo list (and yes – blog update was actually on there). I have RunClub with Team MED tonight at 6, and that BB&B excursion hopefully by 3! Not to mention all the other million and one things I need to do to get ready to move! Hope the weather is better for all of you out there! Enjoy the day.

18 Responses

  1. I love how you call it SpendAllYourMoney – so true. But they do make it easy by letting you pick it all up near your school. I had absolutely no problems getting all of the stuff I wanted, so I hope that eases your mind (at least a little)!

    I have a Mac – and I’m in love. It is so much better than a PC. It runs much more smoothly and (for now) you don’t have to install all that pain-in-the-ass virus software. And if you’re a design student, you can’t go wrong. Case in point: at my internship this summer, all of us non-designers have PCs (blech!), but all of the design interns use Macs. And my group member made an absolutely stellar PowerPoint design for our presentation last week, plus 3 amazing posters for the presentation. And she did it in half the time with 1,000,000x more amazing details.

    Jeez, should I be getting paid for that endorsement?

    Thanks for the comment on my blog, Erika šŸ™‚ It really means a lot – best of luck to you as you get ready for school! Eek! I know it’s a lot to handle, but once you get settled it gets so much easier.

  2. Hi,

    I love your blog.
    What’s going to happen to your current laptop? Will you sell that one as well?

  3. I ABSOLUTELY LOOOOOVE my MAC šŸ™‚ I got it back in January and I would never go back! I’m not a design student, but I can certaintly see how it could trump all the PC users!……I also need an IPOD šŸ˜‰

  4. Hope the sun breaks through…or at least that you find some way to enjoy a rainy day adventure. Are you gonna be able to get your bike to Boston?

    And sorry, I know nothing about computers. Too bad you couldn’t exchange that Ipod for a plane ticket so your mom could help you move :(.

  5. i grew up with macs and pcs – a mac at home, pcs and macs at school. when i went to college, i was informed that “not everything is compatible for apple students” and got a dell. poor choice – i had so many issues and ended up an art major forced to use the outdated studio macs. while i now work in the pc-world (a dell, still), my home computer is a macbook.

    i love it. a lot. it’s intuitive, beautiful, less troublesome, and perfect for my use (graphics, internet, etc).

  6. hi!

    I’m a third year law student at Northeastern and the prez of our triathlon team…so:

    1) welcome!

    2) if you ever want to venture to the dark side of triathlon and join us shoot me an e-mail or find our facebook triathlon group for some links to more info

    3) we do random stuff to like snowshoe racing, duathlons, running races, etc. so feel free to sign up for our e-mail list (link to do that is on the facebook page)

    anyway, it’s a great place. have fun in boston!

  7. I have a mac too! I LOVE IT!!!!!!! They are so much better than PCs, seriously, and I would never go back. I don’t have Windows on mine, though, but I do have Office. I’ve had mine for almost 2.5 years, and it’s still running smoothly **knocks on wood**. I don’t know enough about computers to give a great review, but I really like it much better. I would be extremely excited if I were you! Lucky girl! I just have a black MacBook. Not pro.
    Enjoy the rest of your day and hopefully the skies turn blue and sunny! It was overcast this morning here but sunny now šŸ™‚

  8. ONCE YOU GO MAC YOU NEVER GO BACK!!! haha i am in love with my mac! i got an HP for HS graduation and it died on me in college sophomore year(only living 1.5yrs) you will love the macbook, although it is a little different at first! BOOOO for bad weather, i hope it clears up for u and your running shoes!

  9. I have a mac and I love it. I grew up with a pc my whole life but got a mac for college and it is so much easier than pc’s. Everytime I use a pc I get so frustrated because they are all so slow. Maybe once you get the mac you’ll like it more than you think. I threw mine out of a car window (long story but it was in my backpack and I didn’t know it was in there without a case) and it still works perfectly!

  10. hahah spendallyourmoney- so very true. where i live, we don’t even have a bb&b (pathetic, yes) but i still manage to do a lot of damage through online shopping šŸ˜€

    hope you enjoy the rest of your day!

  11. I have a Mac and LOVE it! I never thought I’d get one (or an iPod for that matter) and now I love both of them. I got a macbook pro last summer and adore the thing. It works really well and is so user friendly that I think you’ll love it. šŸ™‚

  12. MACS = BOMB dig šŸ™‚

  13. HI Erika! Yes it has been FArr too long! I’ve been so preoccupied with school, moving, wedding planning, etc etc. Looks like you’ve been up to lots of fun. I personally HATE Macs. I’ve used them before and have gotten so frustrated. It doesn’t give me the control that I want with my computer compared to a PC. So yeah I think Macs are way overrated.

    My running regimen has been on and off, mainly off. The last time I went running was 4 days ago. I need to get back on it. It made me feel so good afterward.

    Have a great Friday!

  14. Have no fear about moving alone seriously! I moved from Virginia all the way to Portland, Oregon when I was 17 all by myself. I didn’t even know a single person in Portland at the time! It was just me and two suitcases. Best experience of my life.

    Macs are amazing, especially if you’re going to study anything dealing with design. I taught myself how to use a Mac, and I’d never used one before. They’re very user friendly. And you can customize and personalize SO much. AND you don’t have to worry about spyware or any of that garbage!
    “Once you go Mac you never go back”

  15. Hey! Thanks for the link on skating meal plans!! That’s so cool! And who is your cousin? (You could email me obviously if you didn’t want to share on the blog-o-sphere.) I’m just curious if I know her too!!

    I don’t like Macs…as I’ve been a Windows user for years…but that’s just me!!

    Have fun at BB&B! My friend was just telling me how she spent a fortune getting dorm room supplies! Hopefully you can stumble upon some good finds and sweet deals!!

  16. And after that phone conference, we’ve determined…that I’ll be coming in late November. Wahhoo!

    Regarding your technology questions:
    I think a Mac is your best choice as a design student. The software available is a superior quality to what PCs offer. I use Macs all the time at school, though not specifically for imaging.

    Should you decide to sell your HP, you should let me know. Mine isn’t on the verge of puking out, but, it is approaching its dinosaur years as laptops go, now that it’s reached it’s fourth birthday.

    Regarding dorm moving:
    You know that if the fam were helping you move, you’d have way more shit out there than you know what to do with. Well, that’s what happened to me the first time around.
    Negotiating five flights of stairs with fam would be helpful, though, I will give you that.
    Don’t forget your Scrabble game to beat the Doldrum Conversations of Meeting Everyone Superficially during your Welcome Week. ::wink::

    Is there anything I can do to help?

  17. I thought there was a black Macbook Pro? Anyway, I have an iBook and I completely love it. It’s easier to search for things, it runs smoothly, the updates don’t take forever and a day. Whatever I want my laptop to do, it does, so I don’t get frustrated as often. Yes, it has its issues, but not compared to what I went through with a PC. The only downside is that many of the computer programs aren’t compatible for Mac, but with a Macbook/Pro you can startup in Windows.

    I wish mine was black! I’m notorious for eating/computering.. and I have a feeling dirty fingers will show up way more easily on silver! I’ll probably be way over protective with this new lil guy though.. =]

    -E

  18. Oh, a grad student I talked to said how the students at her school who use PCs do so much on it that it ends up just breaking down much sooner than the students who have Macs. I don’t really know why that is, but my previous iBook lasted a while before it started having issues (which might have partly been my fault).

Leave a Reply

