A stolen post, $215 jeans, and caffeinated goodness.

I’m stealing my post that I wrote on RW, because after writing it, I realized it was basically a novel, and good enough amazing, so I should put on my blog. Not to mention, today is a perfect day for a post because l because I got called off of work!! I woke up this morning to dreary skies, rain, thunder, and lightning. So I apologize if you’re a college RW forumite, and you read my blog, because you’re getting *slightly shortchanged! (*I changed it a bit. PLUS, see end of post!! And pictures!!)

Yesterday I went to this store called Opitz – it’s sort of like Overstock.com, only you can physically go there. I used to love it in high school because they would get tons of Delia’s clothing and they always had my sizes (for once!), and I actually still really like *some* of their clothes. They get a lot of True Religion and 7s and crazy expensive jeans, but the fantastic thing is – EVERYTHING IS AT LEAST 70% OFF. Wednesdays are like the restocked-secret-mailing-list-members-only day.. and THIS Wednesday was the start of the “Hey you college kids.. come stock your dorms!” advertised in the mailer. So, stock we did! Hah.. actually not that much. I got two pairs of jeans, a sweet shirt, and a 10 piece bakeware set for our suite.

(don’t ask me why I decided to wear a skirt..?)

(World Wildlife Fund!)

(Baileys.. from Delia’s)

(Urban Behavior. Not gonna lie.. I’ve never heard of that brand.)

(hah! “Tools of the Trade”! It will work just fine for me!)

I struggled with this whole suite deal before, because I feel like I’m the only one out of the 6 of us who doesn’t spend (or have money to spend) like crazy on all these name brand things. One girl’s coming with all this William’s Sonoma stuff, and I’m like “Yes! Target!”. But I’m starting to feel better because now I can feel like I’m contributing. I’m also bringing our 2nd Magic Bullet, which we haven’t opened yet. πŸ˜€ The bake set was new.. but only $10! (YESS 70% off!) And then my mom came home last night with a basically new set of flatware (forks, spoons, knives.. that’s called flatware, right?) from her friend who just got themselves a newer new set. AH! Feeling better.

My mom and I went BACK to Opitz today, and I found the GREATEST pair of jeans.

(Paige. “Premium Denim”. My legs are smiling.)

Can you see that price tag?! $215. And I got them for $65. Hah! And $65 is already a “splurge” for me on jeans! I figure that everyone is entitled to one pair of really good, really nice, feel good jeans. And these will be mine. πŸ˜€ I haven’t gone shopping for me shopping in what feels like forever, so today I’m a happy camper. I also love good pockets (oh.. cause that makes me unique..) so these ones scored double points. Well maybe not the black pair, but the other two..

(pockets!!)

I would also like to say that I feel stellar about my running and the way things are going right now. Despite the groin injury/tear/pull that I was struggling with (that I would say is about 90% healed right now), I am really enjoying running and life in general. Last week was rough – really rough – but I can look back on it now and say “Erika. Quit crying and T.T.F.U. You only get one life so you better make the most of it!”

(T.T.F.U. is pretty much my favorite acronym, and I suggest you all incorporate it into your daily vernacular. (Is that a proper use of vernacular? Oh boy.))

(both mom and I are devoted Asics-for-lifers. RoadID is a must! Safety first kids.)

So yes. Running. Strong, hard, easy, enjoyable. I ran a few sub 7s on my run yesterday without realizing it, and I’ll be running probably 9:30s when I go with my mom this afternoon. I’m running the Urban Wildland Half Marathon on Saturday.. at 7:00am. Yikes!

I am pretty sure I wont be racing it, just coming off this tear and all, but none the less I am SO EXCITED. From everything I’m heard, it’s a wicked race. (Gotta start incorporating that Boston vocab!) It’s quoted as “Minnesota’s Green Race” which is probably the coolest thing I’ve seen so far. This is quoted from their website:

The Urban Wildland Half Marathon & 5K is a no-waste race! All refuse from the event is either composted, recycled, or reused.

Not only is the no-waste effort kinder to our environment, it helps to meet one of the key goals of the Urban Wildland Half Marathon & 5K: to raise awareness about the environment and to practice the earth-friendly values that are taught through Wood Lake’s environmental education program.

Did I say yet that I love life?

(Anddd it has a built in coffee pot!)

Also on the list of purchases yesterday at Opitz a new coffee/espresso maker. My mom is THRILLED. I’m hoping this was a really good brand, because despite being like 70% off it was still over $100! We tried it out today for the first time and it’s AMAZING.

(hah mom you look surprised. You’re too cute.)

We did a CostCo adventure today, and no joke – every single time we’re there my mom looks to see if they have an espresso machine. She has been waiting and waiting and waiting, and they’ve never carried one (except for online, and it was like $$$). What did they have today? The day after we bought an espresso machine?

Well too bad. We like the one we bought better. Plus, being black and sliver, it matches the rest of our appliances. πŸ˜‰ And I just thought I’d throw this in here, since the blog world seems like it’s just discovering these amazing goodnesses..

(Amongst other bulk goodness. I actually think that box of Rice Krispys has been down there since I was like a freshman in high school.)

What the heck took you guys so long!? For those of you that have a CostCo.. they sell them in bulk – Clif bars, Lara bars, those nasty coco type Lara Bars, Power bars, Balance bars, the new Trio bars – they’ve got em’ all! Just a heads up!

WOW! What a post for a Thursday! Back to work tomorrow. Hope everyone is having a great week!

8 Responses

  1. jean envy.

    it’s an UGLY thing.

  2. The Magic Bullet is the best “As Seen on TV” inventions ever. I couldn’t live without it. I need to get the newer one that comes with a bigger blender attachment, big fan.

  3. Have fun running tomorrow! Good luck “not racing”– in a race atmosphere that can be a big challenge! My last race was a “green” one and I’m hoping to see more races turning green.

    I hear you about the suite thing– I was a little intimidated to be the only one who had to say “um, I don’t know if I can afford that” when I was suiting with six other girls– but don’t stress. Target is fine! It’s all about the effort you make with what you have, right? In the end, we would all rather live with a sweet thoughtful person without fancy cookware, right?

    Yay for finding great deals, and double yay for finding clothes that fit…thanks for the Costco tip!

  4. Good luck with the race tomorrow. I like the new jeans – great find! BTW Target rocks so no need to feel bad about not having everything from Crate & Barrel or William Sonoma. I can not justify paying $100 for a tea kettle when I know I can get one just as good for $29. Happy running!!

  5. I agree, pockets make the pants! Looks like you got some sweet goods… I’m a sucker for discount-stores and sales! $65 for jeans- GOOD jeans, oh yah, that’s worth it! (I’m so frugal!) I’ve seen them sell MINI-Luna and Clif bars in boxes at Target. Seriously, probably one bite? But better, I’m sure, than those 100-cal packs HA!!! You’re gonna be a lil’ barista! That race sounds so great, have fun πŸ™‚

  6. Looks like some great purchases. I want an espresso machine sooo bad.

    Good job on the running and awesome about the recovery!

  7. OMG I used to LOVE Delia’s. I was thin enough to fit them for about a day. Lol. πŸ™‚

    And your mom is TOTALLY cute!!! Aww. LOL!

    That store sounds AWESOME…I’m so jealous.

    And I’m an Asics for life person too!!!

    AND…Kashi rocks. I love those rolls. Mmmmm. Kashi. Mmmmmmmmm.

  8. […] thought of me when she bought it, seeing as she was using my -$2.00 coupon.. As I mentioned in my last post, Wednesdays at Opitz are the restocked-secret-mailing-list-members-only day, not to mention the […]

Leave a Reply

