puttin fish in the tin..

The Tin Fish. 11-4, 4-close, or a split, is where you’ll find me basically every day. That’s pretty much the story of my life, but I LOVE it!

(sorry for the crappy shadow!)

Since I talk about my job all the time, I thought I’d share a little bit of it’s greatness with those of you that can’t come to Minneapolis and experience it for yourself. (Although, you might be able to do a second-best: You can find our extended Tin Fish family in San Diego, Imperial Beach, and San Francisco in California, Mukilteo in Washington, and Newburgh and Evansville in Indiana! I can’t say they’ll be as good as my TF, but like I said, a close second. πŸ˜‰ )

(view of the TF from the bike path coming around to the bridge)

My Tin Fish (Which is actually Nooli and Sheff’s Tin Fish – they’re the owners) is on the north east end Lake Calhoun in Minneapolis. Out of all our lakes, Calhoun has always been my favorite.. Harriet seems more of like a ‘take the kiddos in the Burly’ or ‘Sunday morning walk with the fam’ kind of lake. Isles is where you go to Ooh and Aah the amazing homes and architecture and landscapes. Nokomis.. well the only thing I can associate with Nokomis is XC and meets and the good ol’ Miller Relays. Calhoun is for everyone. You will find people there from every walk of life at any time on any given day.

(running orders)

And believe me.. we see ALL those people from all those different walks of life at the Tin Fish. It makes my job so much fun bringing out food to these different people and hearing different stories, different accents, and different faces. I love that I get to be outside (and inside – while I’m not running food). I love that I bike to work (because it takes just as long to drive and find a parking spot). I love that I make tips (hah greedy! But this chick needs money for school)! πŸ˜‰ I love that we all eat a family dinner after close, and that ice cream is actually amazing (and not to mention free). I love my little 15 minute bike ride home in the dark, and looking across the lake at the downtown skyline – I have the best commute ever. I love having visitors, and when friends, family, or just people I know come to eat. I love when it’s busy. I love when people are surprised by such a loud voice (mine) coming out of such a little person. I love carding people when I pour up a Fat Tire. I love my boss(es) – the owners. I love our little Tin Fish Family. πŸ˜€

(the menu board)

Things I don’t like? When Mary takes Joseph’s order (although Mary sounds nothing like Joseph), despite the fact that she ordered Mahi tacos, and I brought a Lake Calhoun Lunch. I don’t like when said Mary EATS half of said Lake Calhoun Lunch, and then comes and whines “but I ordered a Mahi Mahi taco!” I don’t like when people don’t listen for their name to be called, or worse yet, listens, but gives no sign of “here I am”. I can’t feel your eyes looking at me! And I don’t accept the excuse “I couldn’t hear you”, because I’ve been told on numerous occasions that you can hear me out on the docks, and my friend can hear me from her condo balcony across the street. I don’t like when people assume we’re just a concession stand. I don’t like when people assume we are responsible for keeping the toilet paper supplied in the bathroom on the other side of the building that is managed by the park board. I don’t like when people say “bring out some more tartar sauce too..”, what happened to please? I don’t like when it’s slow. I don’t like when people get mad at us for the food-with-drink rule in our liquor license.. we didn’t make the rules!\

(delivery! i ❀ the kids.. just not when they’re playing tag around the table)

It’s so funny.. I work usually 6, sometimes 7 days a week. But on my days off, I always end up there anyways! Either to get ice cream with friends (or my mom, in case of the picture below), or just stopping by on a run. I can’t think of a day I’ve had off when I wasn’t there.

(madre y yo)

In summary, the Tin Fish is amazing. And you should need to go. Just make sure you’re in line by 9:00 or you will be turned away. πŸ˜› This is my 2nd year on the Tin Fish team.. and I can’t wait till next summer to be back!

(walleye taco, iced tea, and I think that’s a salmon sandwich in the background..)

(enjoying lunch on a summer day!)

(view from the patio across Calhoun at sunset)

9 Responses

  1. Thanks for making me miss Minnesota, Erika – sheesh!

    But seriously, it looks like a great place to work πŸ™‚ I loove Lake Calhoun. My best friend in high school lived two blocks away, so we used to drive/walk around all the time!

    Those were the days…

  2. hi i love your blog because your running is so inspiring, i was wondering if you have any tips for runners who suffer from knee issues? i run 7-9 miles twice a week and my knees always seem to be tight and sore for a day or so after. are there any precautions or post-run things you do?

  3. wow, Sperly! I’m so happy you love your job so much. It sounds like a lot of fun and that the pros out-weigh the cons. Rude people will always inhabit around us, but keep up your positive outlook! Beautiful!

  4. I havent been back to Minnesota in farfar too long.

    all my extended family is there but I WONT GO in the winter πŸ™‚

  5. Great photos! It’s cool that you can bike to and from work. That’s the best kind of commute!

  6. Great photos! It’s cool that you can bike to and from work. I remember when I could do that…puts you in such a different state of mind than driving or riding the bus.

  7. I love Lake Calhoun! I live kind of outta the way though so I don’t make it there too often! I’ll have to stop by Tin next time I make it out there! Maybe I’ll luck out and see you!

  8. You really do have a cool job. If I was going to be a waitress that place would definitely fit the bill – such great scenery. If I ever make it to Minnesota I will stop at Tin Fish for sure.

  9. Aw so fun!! I loved hearing about how much you enjoy your job. Sounds like really the ideal situation!! And how cool that you get to enjoy being outside as well! It’s always amazing when you kind of grow to have a big family with coworkers and fun friends! Thanks for this post! Sounds like a place I’d love to visit !! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

