getting back on track..

..and NO, I don’t mean in the way that it seams everyone else has been talking about. I don’t need a diet cleanse after the 4th of July weekend (although, there were some yummy delicious things involved!).. I’m just kind of at the point where I just need a life cleanse.

Hah – wow. Could I sound more dramatic? I’m not trying to be.. but hopefully putting this in writing will be a good step in moving forward. (And because I do everything in photo form.. it will of course be accompanied with pictures. Some of which may be irrelevant.)

Sperly’s Lovin Life Lowdown: Phase 1- Detox

Everyone has bad habits.. whether we admit to them or not. And if you don’t like the words “bad habit”, lets just say there are some things we could all do better at in life – I have my fair share of those things. Maybe this should be Phase 2.. because Phase 1 would have been like recognition and claiming responsibility or something along those lines.. but I didn’t think of that till now, so too bad. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Here are the things I’ll be workin on for the next… while.

1. Sleeping. I’ve accomplished all of my new years resolutions, except for getting back on track with a decent sleep schedule. I used to go to bed after the sports on the local news, and ever since 2nd semester last winter I’ve been staying up until like 12:30 or 1:00.. or later. And then waking up still at 7:00 because my body is incapable of sleeping past sunrise. I’ve had to reset/change my sleeping patterns before due to a new job or a different class schedule.. and for some reason this last effort has efficiently FAILED. Work on it.

2. Letting go of my mom’s relationship decision. I have no say in who she dates. Why she dates them. What they do. When they do it. I don’t get to pick if she choses to get married again. My parents aren’t getting back together and I know that. Missing our family 4 and wanting it back are two different things. I can miss it, but they’re not getting back together. I may not love my mom’s boyfriend, but I love my mom. Work on it.

3. Letting go of my own relationship non-relationship stress. After my last relationship ended I was really enjoying being single.. but to be honest I’m not exactly feelin’ that right now. I’m torn because I want a relationship, yet at the same time I only let myself get to a certain point before I close myself off and don’t allow one to develop. My outlook on relationships has been jaded, and I don’t know how to get around that. And especially considering my current situation – I’ll be leaving in two months. That’s not time to start anything serious. But I don’t know that I’m enjoying being on my own. Aah! God knows what’s up, and he’s got a plan, so I need to leave it to him and let life take it’s course. Work on it.

(This photo is from 4th of July 1 year ago when I was up at my bf’s grandparent’s house on Lake Michigan. It was so much fun! We’re still friends. ๐Ÿ™‚ )

4. Stay excited about going out to Boston. I do love the school. I do love the city. I love architecture and I know I’m passionate about it. Every now and then though, I remember that we can’t really afford it, and I’m leaving behind a full ride at the U of MN. And then I remember that I’m going to be hundreds and hundreds of miles away from my home and my family. And then I think about how much I’ll miss the lakes, and how bored I’ll be running the Charles (I clearly have my priorities figured out). I need to find a way to stay excited about this, because if I don’t go now, I never will. Work on it.

5. Being a better person all around, to everyone. I feel like I’ve been more irritable/fake with people than I used to be, and that’s NOT ME. I’ve still kept my promise (to myself) about not talking about people behind their backs, but that doesn’t mean I haven’t been thinking just as (if not more) bitchy thoughts them (whoever “them” happens to be at the moment). It didn’t use to (used to?) take a conscious effort to be a legitimately nice person to everyone. Despite how much I gritted my teeth, I could always find the good in someone, and remind myself that God made them too – we’re all human. Maybe I’m just irritable because of the major sleep debt I’ve been in? Maybe more sleep will help? I sure hope so. Work on it.

I’m only going with 5.. because I feel like more than that and I’m being over ambitious.. I like setting goals in smaller steps. Plus, everything is better in odd numbers (flowers, candles, cookies) (OK I lied.. being the 3rd wheel SUCKS).

I honestly have no clue where this post is headed, and what a future follow-up post will be, but there you go.

In Other News..

I’m flying out to Boston on Sunday (wayyyyy early in the AM), and I’ll be there through Thursday. (Or Friday – take your pick. My flight gets in at like 12:08 in the morning on Friday.) I’m SO EXCITED! Sunday/Monday I’ll be staying in the dorms on campus, and Tuesday/Wednesday I’ll be staying at the Colonnade Hotel. I’m not sure which one I’m more excited about – the Colonnade is pretty sweet!! It’s right by campus though, so I’ll be getting used to commuting from “home”.

I had my highest mileage week.. um, ever.. last week. 72! Unintentional, but felt fine. (And please [do I even need to say this?] – no anonymous “you shouldn’t run that much” comments. It won’t get posted, and you’ll be wasting your time.)

(There’s a ME in there.. running at Harriet. I love these photos.)

My mom’s BF is coming.. TOMORROW. For 2.5 weeks. Please see above for my feelings on that.

(bahhaaha.. kidding. Hope mom can take the joke.)

Well, I’m gonna have to sign off here folks. Time for a shower and my bathroom cleaning/laundry duties for the night. I apologize for posting so infrequently, but I’ve been working every day (look forward to a very photographic TF post coming soon!), + running, + friends and family, + prepping for Boston, and I just don’t have a ton of free time. Be back soon!

10 Responses

  1. “and how bored Iโ€™ll be running the Charles”?!?!

    I will pretend you didn’t write that! You will never get bored of running around the dirty water of Boston. I know I make it sound so appetizing, but the water is dirty, but your running AROUND it.

    So many runners in Beantown, nothing to worry about in that respect. Keep that mileage up, sounds like your kicking some serious a$$!

    do work

  2. Thank you so much for selecting The Colonnade Hotel as your home away from home! We hope you enjoy the brand NEW Colonnade Boston Hotel – we just completed a 20$ million renovation.

    We really appreciate the vote of confidence and the complimentary PR on your blog. We look forward to welcoming you to the hotel.

    We have some great running maps of the Charles River- so be sure to ask one of our concierge’s.

    Also, its a great time of year to visit – you can relax at Boston’s only Roof Top Pool after your run.
    See you soon.

    The Colonnade Boston Hotel

  3. Welcome to MA – I live @ 30 minutes outside of Boston. I have never ran along the Charles – I wish I lived closer so I could. Boston has so much to offer, I hope you have a great time. If you need any suggestions for things to do or places to go I can try to give you some help. Happy running!!

  4. GO SPERLY!!!!!

    Sounds like a good “cleanse” to do. And I’m sure you’ll accomplish all your goals. YAY BOSTON!!! It’ll be FUN!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. I love your blog! Just discovered it and fell for it on the first and second lines…sooooo true. I’m going to set a few goals now for my own personal “life cleanse.” And if I drip some of my soy ice cream onto it, so be it.

    Ironically, I am from near Boston but have moved far away. I think we’ll always miss the place that is “home” to us. But all my best routes are in Massachusetts. You will find them, and with that kinda mileage, you’ll cover all the ones I ever found and beyond.

  6. haha – ok, firstly, just looking at the posts – your HOTEL posted to you?! that’s sweet.

    ANYWHO — you’ve got a great list going and i hope you accomplish some things in the process. I’m sure you’re going to have a GREAT time in Boston!

    I’ll share (briefly, I hope..) with you my experience of moving away from home – i transferred out here to Colorado last year, and yea my parents couldn’t afford it (hence, loans…bleh..can’t wait to start paying those…) & its in the back of my mind at times (thinking about the bills!) BUT – ALAS! Think of all the great experiences you’ll have venturing out on your own, the cool people you’ll meet, and other opportunities you’ll have that you wouldn’t have had in MN – that’s what I do to remind myself, and thankfully I’m very happy with my choice to be here, and remember, you can always go back home, but this is the time of your LIFE to experience things! — ok sorry if that rambled and it probably tells you things you already know, but just wanted to let you know you got some support!

    -Happy trails!
    Katie
    aka: Hawkeye (RWF)

  7. Hi,
    I found your site and it’s been an interesting read. I’m trying to lengthen my running distance. It seems I lose steam after 5 miles….any suggestions to get over the hump?

    Thanks, K

  8. I love setting goals/self cleanses. I think everyone should do them once in a while to look at how he/she lives. It keeps all sane in a way right?

    Love your photos, especially teh voodoo doll. ๐Ÿ˜†

    and you can run as much as your heart desires. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  9. Your goals are great! I am sure you will accomplish them. Nothing is wrong with running 72 miles in a week! You are such an inspiration. Just curious…I am now into running myself and do about 20-30 a week right now. How many miles did you run each day of the week? That would be helpful to know. Thanks!

  10. haha sorry. I just noticed you have your running wrap up from last week, and that helps!

Leave a Reply

