bamf

That’s me πŸ˜€

I feel like the best runs are always the ones you least expect to be good. I don’t necessarily mean “best” as in like.. course PR.. I mean like you finish (forcedly.. because you really just want to go forever), and you can’t get over how much FUN it was! You want to tell everyone.. and chances are you do tell everyone. But unless they’re a runner and they’ve done it themselves, they probably just think “Wow, that chick is nuts!”

Well.. that’s me, and that’s yesterday. If you’ve been watching the weather, you know the midwest has been getting hit with some ridiculous stuff lately. Yesterday, the skies had finally cleared out (for the morning anyways), but there were these amazing gusts of wind at like 40mph. For some reason.. being hit with a 40mph gust of wind is way different than like a 40mph SUV. Good thing too, because there was no way I was passing up on this windy adventure.

I left Gomer at home, because on a day like this, you’re obviously not going out for a time. This one was for me and SeΓ±ora Naturaleza. I had no real distance in mind.. at first I thought I should keep it close to the house in case conditions changed, but once I got out there, well, I got out there.. you know how it goes. πŸ˜‰ I did bring my cell phone which feels totally lame, but I was trying to think in mom-mode.. and decided it wouldn’t hurt. Safety first kids.

I wasn’t the only one who had a windy adventure in mind! I’m sure the wind surfers at Calhoun were having a hay day! I also passed this guy when I was at Harriet.. he had the wind at his back and I was running into it. We just gave each other that grin that says “yeah.. I’m hard core” and a big ol high five when we passed. I saw him again on the other side of the lake when the roles were flipped – way too much fun! I had the wind pushing me at probably like a 6:20 pace, but my feet barely felt like they were hitting the ground! I really did feel like one bamf. [BTW, I just figured out what that stands for.. after seeing it for like a year! I was always too embarrassed to ask. Same situation for DF (dear friend? haha nope!) and FE (first ever..? but I knew that was wrong). Shout out to Karyn for finally making it register in my head!]

This is from a similar adventure I took this last winter with my DF (that would be my understanding of DF.. dear FRIEND!) Ali. It was like -25 with windchill.. and WIND was most definitely accurate. My clothing included: under armor, 2nd long sleeve, jacket, spandex, wind pants, socks x2, ski mittens, gator, hat, shoes, yak trax (best winter addition you can make to your running collection). We were debating ski goggles.. because we literally had our gators pulled up to our eyes, and our hats pulled down to our eyebrows. The snow was like a foot deep.. not plowed.. we would have been better off in snow shoes. And it was blowing all over the place! We passed a man running with a plastic SLED held out in front of him to block the snow! It was a blast!

Back to present day, my run ended a little after 9 miles, and believe me I could have gone forever if I didn’t have somewhere to be by 1:00. The clouds came back. The wind died down. I wouldn’t have traded my run for anything. πŸ™‚

That would be hail. The weather has actually been NUTS this past week.. not to mention frustrating! Bad weather => getting called off at work. No work => no money. It’s not like I spend my paychecks right when I get them or anything (future post material. I hate money. Spending. Discussing. Dealing. Getting. It’s sort of a problem).. but I feel like I need to be making/saving as much as possible with my [lack of] financial aid package for next year.

I’m praying the weather holds out today, despite the disgusting forecast of storms and rain all week! It’s supposed to be hot too – 81 and humid. “Sweating buckets” doesn’t even come close to describing me post-run on a day like today!

Sorry for the lack of posts lately. Things have been hectic around here to say the least. Not even worth getting into.

I ran the downtown half for kicks last weekend. I was there volunteering anyways, and had really wanted to do it but I heard it was full. Wrong! Gotta love race day registration. I ran a 1:36:01, which is no PR but I’m OK with it.. given I didn’t go out in race-mode. Came in 1st for my age group, 3rd for the ladies, and 25th overall. Best part – TECH SHIRTS!! Anderson Races and Team Ortho seriously put on the BEST races in the Twin Cities. If you ever get the chance to take part in one.. I suggest you go for it! My dad and I went to Starbucks after for a refreshing frappaccino – it was a HOT day!

Well.. plenty to do around here. I gotta go deliver a few things to some neighbors, and get a start on the day! Hope the weather holds out for everyone to enjoy a nice weekend!

9 Responses

  1. Wow, that weather sounds epic! The pictures are equally as epic!

    I agree, some of the best runs are when you least expect it to be great.

  2. Congratulations on placing so well in the race!! I am looking into running my first half marathon in the fall. πŸ™‚ You inspire me.

  3. Man…I wanna run a half for kicks. You totally are a bamf. πŸ™‚ And you taking your cell phone with you makes me feel less dorky for texting my BF every time I run so someone knows where I am.

  4. You have totally inspired me to train to run a 5k. This will be fun πŸ™‚

  5. Oh you have so much fun! But wait…did I miss it? What does BAMF stand for? haha I’m totally lost.

    No need to apologize for not posting, we all have bz lives.

    Great pics btw.

  6. Hey! Haven’t heard from you in a while, but I just wanted to let you know that I tagged you to fill out a fun survey. Enjoy!

  7. oOoOh oOoOH that’s fun!! Kite boarding (did i say the sport right)
    and yeah tagged you, may i? πŸ™‚

  8. haha. Thanks to google I just firgured out what BAMF stands for. πŸ™‚
    And that’s always fun when you run in a race just for the heck of it; not to set a PR. Kudos to that!

  9. Ok, I know I just commented this but I noticed your shoes in the last pic, are those asics Gel-Empire II? Haha. Sorry for the two comments.

Leave a Reply

