7 toenails to go.

How gross is that? I can’t remember the last time I had all 10 toenails.. there are always a few that have gone black and fallen off, or are halfway grown back. Right now I have one that is just hanging on for dear life.. it’s completely black and I’m definitely feeling it after TODAY’S RACE šŸ˜€ I wish it would hurry up and fall off already!

So, here goes Erika’s Little Big Race Report:

I woke up at 6:20 with the sun, but then, remembering that I went to bed just six hours ago, I tried to get a little more sleep before I had to get going. Got back up at 7:04, did the usual contacts in/brush teeth/wash face thing, and checked the temp quick before getting dressed. 40 and sunny, light breeze, high of 60 by 3:00. PERFECT racing weather. Got the mug of coffee (very important) poured and breakfast going. I’m not usually a breakfast-before-run person, but racing is different than running, plus I knew it would be a while before I’d get a chance to have real food. I heated up about 6 Chik’n Nuggets.. which you might be like “WHAT? For breakfast?!” but seriously.. these are like my favorite pre-run fuel. They don’t really fit the carb/protein/fat ratio that’s supposedly “ideal“.. but I’ve been running for a long ass time and I just do what works for me.

My dad and I got to Minehaha Park by 8:15.. got my bib, met up with Bobby (see below pictures..) and his girlfriend, and we (Bobby, myself, and GOMER) headed out for a warm up. OK so keep in mind my total mileage for today was supposed to be around 12 as my last “long run” before Med City (NEXT SUNDAY!!).. so anyways did 1 mile easy with B and 1 more easy on my own.. made my last bathroom stop.. went back to grab my dad.. and then we headed up to the street where the starting line was. At that point it was 8:56 so we had good time.. until suddenly the damn horn went off! I whipped my sweatshirt off as my dad was like “Drop and Go Erika.. Drop and Go!!” and GO I did.. Here’s me coming in the last 100 meters.

Unfortunately I didn’t hit Gomer until like half a mile in. I thought I did, but guess not. And I apologize in advance if I come off as bragging, but I had way too much fun, so I’m gonna brag away.

I passed the 2nd leading woman at mile one, and the 1st woman at 1.5.. and after that I was right at home hangin in with the guys šŸ˜‰ Chatted with several people along the way, but after 3.5 I was on my own for the rest of the race. That’s one crappy thing about small races – if you’re not with a pack, there’s no one there to compete with (outta sight, outta mind), do you really are responsible for pushing yourself. I passed one last person with about .75 to go, and came in strong at 44:00 even. Unfortunately, I had too much left at the end, but that’s what happens when you’re not used to racing that distance.

This picture would have been SO GREAT if it was like a quarter of a second earlier! The finish line was about 25 feet ahead of me.

Me and Mr. Bobby. I was the first woman finisher, and 6th overall. Bobby was 4th!! And for finishing first, I won an iPod!

A tried and true TURC pose. (TURC stands for The University Running Club.. I met Bobby on one of the first trail runs of the year.)

Here are my race freebies (that made it home, as opposed to in my mouth) The two shirts are basically the same – the red one shows what the back looks like.

Up close: two vanilla Boosts.. a Power Walker hat (sorry.. this will be donated. I’m not a walker).. my iPod (not donated.. but I’m selling this one. I don’t really want/have a need for an iPod).. a big delicious apple.. a whole foods granola bar.. and a target knockoff of a Zone bar (strawberry yogurt flavored).

Overall, the race was really fun – fun being my key word because by no means is it a PR for me for 6.2 miles, but since it was so small I got to enjoy being the first female finisher. After I collected all my freebies, I sent them off with my dad, and he drove down to Dunn Bros where I was going to meet him. I got in 5 more miles easy, and ended my run at the coffee shop! It worked out perfectly!

After Dunn Bros, my dad and I decided to stop at the Farmers Market before he dropped me off at my mom’s.. but those pictures are for a different post šŸ˜‰ I’m headed off to work right now, and I’ll be there till close.. so hopefully it’ll be super busy since it’s so nice out! It’s a little cool.. but not too bad. Hope everyone has a LOVELY Sunday! (my absolute favorite day of the week btw!)

9 Responses

  1. Haven’t even read the whole post yet, but I thought I would be the first on the blog to say CONGRATS ON FIRST PLACE! Gotta love the freebies too! That’s awesome. Good luck with the marathon comin up!

  2. Hurray, congrats!

    Ouch, the toenail thing sounds painful! I suppose it’s the price of being awesome though, right šŸ˜‰

  3. congrats!

  4. Hey girl! It’s baseballafel from RW. Just wanted to tell ya I absolutely LOVE reading your blog – it’s pretty inspiring and you’re writing is awesome. I always appreciate people who can actually use some intelligence when writing haha.

    Anyway, great pics from the race and congrats to you! You’re definitely a star and I’m beginning to kinda “look up” to you when it comes to running – let’s me know that maybe I can one day get my miles up and be able to run every day šŸ™‚

  5. Congrats on your win!!! And an ipod?! So jealous!! Someone was making fun of my mini on the plane the other day….something about how it was so old school… and I never thought having an older mini was “old school”…. the comment just kind of through me off…like wow, even having a MINI is considered out of date. Weird.

  6. You make running sound so fun and nice, which it is–sometimes. and look at all those freebies! They’re giving out ipods like it’s candy now. Too bad they don’t give out that nice watch you just received not too long ago. šŸ˜‰

    Have a good week Erika!

  7. congrats! i wish i could run again… i think it’s going to take me a while to get back into racing form… my friends that have been able to run after the marathon complain that they are indeed slower.

    sick prizes. Get them while you can because in college you aren’t allowed to take prizes they offer you. except for medals and ribbons. but that gets better when the prize is beer, because i mean you can just drink it and no one knows right?

    thanks for the add!

  8. Holy moly! CONGRATS!

  9. Congratulations!!!

Leave a Reply

