defeated to sky high.. and everything in between.

Holy smokes.. this last week has been flippin ridiculous. Good and bad. I’m in serious sleep debt, but that’s life. I got a lot to cover, and a little time, so lemme get down to business.

First things first: I decided. I’ll be transferring to NORTHEASTERN! I seriously didn’t make my decision until about half an hour before I had to make the phone call.. I was that on the fence about it. Just trying to process all the options was really draining on me (and on my mom too). There were nights when I couldn’t sleep, and my mom would come down at like 3 in the morning saying “Well what if we did this_____.” But really – I’m happy with my decision. (Except for the part where I’m drowning in debt until I’m 85.. that still blows.) To add some icing to the cake, I got a voicemail Wednesday morning “extending me an invitation” to the Honors program! SO EXCITED! Aside from smaller classes and amazing professors.. you also get to live in the Honors LLC which is suite style dorms πŸ˜€ We get our own little kitchen, bathroom, and lounge room!! I. Can’t. Wait.

Secondly.. prom was great. I had a really fun time with James and all my old high school friends. We all took pictures at the Sculpture Gardens, went to Buca for dinner (huh?? Yeah.. that clearly wasn’t my planning), and then Grand March.. dance.. after party.

There were TWENTY TWO people in our group!! That made dinner super fun πŸ˜‰ And some good dancing..

Hahha.. I definitely felt very high school.. but hey – that’s what prom is for! Dancing definitely passed the time. The last prom I went to.. my date was LAME and didn’t dance AT ALL. Oop.. no, I lied. He’d dance the slow songs.

So after the dance we went back to my house to change quick before the after party. When we came up to the door.. it was wide open. Which was weird because we never leave our door open. Much less unlocked. James joked “like it even matters.. you live in such a safe neighborhood!” but I know it doesn’t matter WHERE you live. Our house was broken into once before like 10 years ago.

We walked through the porch and into the house (porch door open too..) and right on the rug in front of us was my purse and my moms purse.. everything strewn on the floor. It took a second for me to realize what happened.. credit cards – gone. Cash – gone. Both my mom’s cameras – gone. The scariest part is that my mom had been home when it happened.. asleep on the futon upstairs. The TV was on and there’s no way the person could have not heard it. Aside from me just being super pissed.. I’m SO thankful she was OK.

We canceled all our cards and stuff.. but the lame ass still used mine to fill up with gas in St. Paul.. then make a stop at Cosetta’s (an Italian grocery store.. wtf?).. and go on a little shopping spree at Walmart in ST. FREAKING CLOUD! Gotta say.. the guy works fast.

I was supposed to run the Minnetonka Half Sunday morning, but by the time the police left and I got back from the after “party” (which I only went to for like an hour).. my car pool would have been coming in like 2 hours. PASS! My friend biked with me while I did 14 Sunday afternoon.

I made a teeny bouquet of flowers (yes.. that’s a shot glass) for my madre. We’ve both had a rough week. Speaking of rough – today was my last class for the semester. I have this big project for my Arch Studio due today at 4:00. I’ve literally been working on it all day, every day, for over a week. Around 1:00 today when I was in the studio, I had to accept to myself that the amount of work I had left to get done would take more than 3 hours.. no way around it. Our teacher said he’d rather we turn in a stellar, 100% best effort project on Monday, and be marked down half a grade, than turn in a shitty/unfinished project on Friday and probably get more than half a grade off anyways. I’m trying to be OK with the fact that I’ll be turning in on Monday, but it’s hard. I feel super defeated.. especially since I’ve been working SO HARD and SO LONG on this. It’s not like I procrastinated or something, and now I’m stuck dealing with the consequences. The fact is – there is just more detail than 3 hours worth of work. So I left the studio, and drove home.

I’m about to go for a quick run to clear my head. Today is my first day back at work for the summer (psh.. it’s only like 62 degrees here..) and I’m working 5 till close. I’m really excited to be back! Just kinda down about the project..

I’ll leave you guys with some good eats. Ignore the fact that this looks florescent.. it’s freaking amazing. It’s vegan stuffed cabbage rolls smothered in sweet & sour sauce and it’s freaking fantastic. I don’t get time to make this often.. but when I do I make a lot so I can freeze and have it for like a week straight πŸ˜€

And last but not least, this GINORMOUS box of splenda. 1,000 effing packets!!!! This will last me until I’m about 25.. going with me off to Boston next year. I have no idea why we bought it at COSTCO.. but hey.. fake sugar doesn’t expire. We’re good to go for a lifetime.

I apologize for the novel.. but that’s what happens when you can’t post for forever! I can assure that my posts will be more frequent now that school’s over. (Well.. not quite. I guess I have to turn in my arch project on Monday, and then SATURDAY the 17th I have one last final. Who does that?!) Ahhh. Time to run. Thanks to everyone for all the support in making my decision and the rough last week!

9 Responses

  1. congrats on deciding about northeastern! πŸ™‚

    the prom pictures are making me want to go back to high school (way too old now but…) and go to prom!!!! fun times πŸ˜‰

  2. Wow! Looks like you’ve been busy! Glad to hear from you.
    PS Those vegan stuffed cabbage rolls sound amazing!

  3. Wow, Sperly, I’m sorry to hear about the break-in, but I’m glad everything turned out okay and no one was hurt.

    Fun prom pictures!

  4. so creepy about the break in!! i can’t imagine!! you look gorgeous in your prom pics tho!!

  5. Why so much splenda? Why don’t you just use sugar? Just wondering.

  6. Linds>> Hahah.. it didn’t make me want to go back to high school!! One night was more than enough.

    Caroline>> Well.. apparently not busy enough if I didn’t get that damn project done :,(

    Christina>> I seriously think that’s what I’m most thankful for in this entire year. Btw.. I’ve been MIA from the yesterbests! I gotta get back to that!

    Em>> Thanks so much!

    Allison>> Hey now.. no one likes being accused of anything, so lets not make assumptions. Note the part where I said “this box will last me till I’m 25” and “this is going to Boston with me next year”. I DON’T use “so much splenda”.

  7. Ok, well why do you use any at all? You’re skinny enough that eating extra sugar would be good for you. I’m not trying to be rude or accusatory. But I am very very curious as to why someone so skinny is using splenda, not sugar, and drinking non-caloric beverages. Don’t you need a ton of calories for how much exercise you do? As I said, I’m not asking to be rude, but am just curious.

  8. Hey Glad to hear you made your final decision.
    I have a personal question and you dont have to anwser.. I too am a distance runner and have been through highschool, I have always had trouble maintaining my weight and was wondering if you are naturally that skinny or if you watch what you eat and count calories. I never have been a calorie counter/dieter but I am considering it because i def am not as skinny as someone likeyou !

  9. Congrats on your decision! You will love NU and Boston. Northeastern is in such a great part of the city– you are so close to the Prudential, Copley, Newbury St., etc. You’re also not far from some great running places. You will have a blast!

Leave a Reply

