see last: reasons why I run

Freebies. Why else would I pay money to run when I can do it for free? $35 bucks for a 5K? Psh.. that’s like $11/mile! So unless a race is offering some sweet goodies, post race food, a shirt, a mug, or stellar age group winner prizes (OK.. or if the money benefits a good cause), chances are I’m not signing up.


This is the fruit of my labor – what I bought with my $25 gift certificate to Run N Fun for winning my age group at the Securian Frozen Half marathon. I was really struggling to pick between this and a different nike sports bra, especially since this is that weird midriff length. (Is that how it’s spelled? I’ve never had to write it before..) Anyways, I have about a bajillion sports bras, and this looked really pretty.. so midriff it is! And yes.. that would be Mrs Martha’s magazine in the background.

Run today was 9 miles easy with a friend. My shins were feeling crappy from that DAMN TREADMILL I was forced to run on during the storm last Monday. I was not made to run on a moving sidewalk. My head says yes – my feet say no.


Dinner tonight – Eggplant Parmesan. The picture doesn’t do justice to the holy goodness of this plate. Were there more, I would have had more. And probably more. Instead I’m putting a pretty good dent in an ice cream float right now =]

Still looking for lunch tote suggestions. I went all over the freaking city – Twin Cities Green, Linden Hills Natural Home, the Co-Op, Whole Foods, Sur La Tab, Trader Joes.. no one has what I’m looking for!! Grrr. Ok – homework time. Maybe.

4 Responses

  1. Nice sports bra… that is awesome that you could use your gift certificate for it đŸ™‚

    Good luck w/ the school work!

  2. Hehe, you know you are a real runner when 9 miles and easy can be found in the same sentence. Great job!

  3. Yum! I’ve been meaning to try Eggplant Parm. Someday! Eggplant kind of intimidates me! And cute sports bra! Usually we don’t get very exciting freebies for skating…just a fleece (if we are lucky), garment bags, pens, towels, lunch bags, etc. Ha! Have a great Sunday!

  4. You know you are a real runner when you run for the freebies. Free shirts, shoes, snacks – I will run for any of them.

Leave a Reply

