Ragnar Relay Packing List

I’m not quite ready to post my Ragnar race recap just yet, but I can say WOW it was so much fun! I am 50% exhausted and 50% still pumped! We are already planning next year’s race. In the mean time… I’ll leave you with this:

 

When I was trying to think of everything I needed to bring along for the Ragnar Relay.. I felt like I kept forgetting things, or thinking of new things! The whole trip I found myself saying, “I wish I would have thought of that!” I had searched on Ragnar’s site for a “packing list”, but all I came up with were some suggestions of a few food items, and the mandatory items you needed to run (reflective vest, headlamps, etc.)

 

I’m putting this list up so that if anyone else is googling trying to find a Ragnar packing list, they might stumble upon this and I can be of help! Of course not all of these things are necessary, and some of them are just personal preference items that I wanted to have along, but at least it’s a good place to start!

 

CLOTHES:

  • Running top (3 – one for each leg)
  • Running shorts (3 – one for each leg)
  • Socks (3 pairs)
  • Shoes (I recommend 2 pairs in case it is raining during one of your legs)
  • Sports bras (3)
  • COMFY CLOTHES (to wear in between legs)
  • Sweatshirt
  • Sweatpants
  • T-shirt
  • Flip flops
  • Hat/visor
  • Running belt
  • Jacket or windbreaker

 

COSMETICS:

  • Baby wipes
  • Deodorant
  • IcyHot
  • Ibuprofin
  • Inhaler (if you have asthma)
  • Contact case / solution / glasses (if you wear them)
  • Hair brush (hair gets super tangled in the humidity)
  • Bandaids
  • TUMS
  • Toothpaste / toothbrush (your teeth start to feel furry after all that Gatorade)
  • Shampoo / soap (several of the major exchanges have OUTDOOR showers. Read: cold)

ETC:

  • Garmin/watch
  • Cell phone
  • RACE BIBLE (at least 2 copies – one per van)
  • Reflective vests (2+ – Mandatory. At least one per van, but they get sweaty – I would bring your own)
  • Head lamps (2+ – see above)
  • Flashers for back side (2+ – see above)
  • Camera & batteries
  • iPod
  • Sleeping bag or blanket
  • Pillow (though you’re not going to be getting much sleep!) 
  • Ear plugs (see above)
  • Money
  • FOOD & BEVERAGE (see below)
  • Swiss army knife
  • First aid kit
  • Towel
  • Glow sticks
  • Sidewalk chalk (to write on the road ahead of your runners.. it’s so fun to see a message to kick a$$ when you’re dying on mile 7 trying to peak the hill!)
  • Book / magazine (I brought them.. but honestly you’re having too much fun with your team to have time to read)
  • Walkie Talkies (if you want em’… cell phone coverage is spotty)
  • Cooler
  • Sharpie (I wanted it.. I feel like it’s always a good thing to have along!)
  • Window paint markers (for your van)
  • Safety pins (for pinning on numbers.. taking care of blisters.. you get the picture)

 

DSCN1860

my lovely artwork

 

FOOD & BEVERAGE:

  • Water bottles (bring more than you think you’ll need. You’ll need them.)
  • Gatorade or Powerade
  • Bananas
  • Bagels
  • Peanut butter
  • Apples
  • Grapes
  • Bars (clif/power/granola/etc.)
  • Gu/Sports beans/Shot Blocks/etc.
  • Raisinettes
  • Cereal
  • String cheese
  • Crackers
  • Gum
  • Trail mix
  • Pretzels
  • COFFEE (you don’t need to have it with you, but if you are one of those people who need coffee to keep going, make sure you have a plan of where you will get it!)

 

the goodie bag

the goodie bag

 

 

Like I said, some of these things are just things I wanted to have along for personal comfort. You obviously don’t need chalk to write on the road, but it is something I wish I had brought along when I saw “Kick It In!!” written on the road ahead of me! 

I’m off to bed mis amigos. I started my first leg at like 3:00 yesterday afternoon, ran somewhere around midnight, and finished my last leg at like 9:00 this morning (Saturday). There were probably about 3 hours of sporadic sleep thrown in there.. and as far as I’m concerned, it feels like its already Tuesday. 

And I wouldn’t trade it for the world!

14 Responses

  1. I love race prep almost as much as the race itself!

    Oh, I was thinking of you the other day, how you’ve been able to get past the surgery you had. It really is motivational.

  2. Race sounds like a lot of fun and a scenic one too, along Winona to MSP!!
    My brother is going to be a sophmore and he is really involved and is a enviromental architecture/horticulture major!
    My mom and I are just worried if they will let him back in with this kind of illness and all the stress of school!

  3. I can’t believe you did Ragnar! Can’t wait for the recap! I was maybe going to do it this year with some friends but I had a work commitment..

    We are moving a mere mile from our current digs. We live between downtown and uptown right now and are moving closer to downtown…still Minneapolis though :)

    That’s crazy that you work at the Tin Fish! I walk/run by there ALL the time!

  4. LATE NIGHT running!!! this sounds sooooo fun! It’s been a long time since ive read blogs, when I saw yours with recent posts I got so excited to read that your hip is doing better and that your back to running a zillion miles!!! congrats girl! wooooo!!

  5. Love this list! I somehow became a team captain this year and I’ve never run in a Ragnar myself so I’m searching the ‘net trying to find some guidance. This list is really going to help me out!

  6. Nice list! Great prep for Ragnar.

    One thing to add: Glide!

  7. Thanks for this list! It is very helpful:)

  8. Your purpose was realized when i googled “What to bring for ragnar!” Thanks for posting this!

  9. “what to pack for Ragnar”- this came up and helped tremendously.

    Thanks!

  10. Perfect list – I’m preparring for the Miami – Key West Ragnar. We have 2 teams going this year and it’s gonna be a great way to kick start 2012. Same way we kick started 2011 -

  11. Best blog! Thank you!!! 3 days till SoCal 2013 Ragnar!!!

  12. You did it! Googled Ragnar packing list and this was one of the top hits. Doing my very first Ragnar in 2 days (ADK 2013) and while we’ve had team discussions around what to bring – it’s great to hear from a girl who’s been there : )

  13. We’re doing DC Ragnar in a week and I’ve seen some great lists of the types of foods to pack but really don’t have a sense of quantities. For example, I bought an 18pk juice box-sized chocolate milk for each of the vans, Got a big bag of trail mix and divvied it into 18 1/2 cup bags, a 1 lb pound bag of pretzels for each van. I do plan on using your list, which has a lot of food to get the rest of our food but really have no sense of quantity. Any help? Thanks!

    • Hi Therese! I remember having lots of left overs of some things, and zero left of others. There are two separate fueling issues: the actual fueling because you need to have energy for your runs, and then the wow we are in this van so long OOOH PRETZELS! Our van actually stopped to eat at a restaurant after our last legs were over (we were van 1), which was a welcomed break from powerade and trail mix.

      I’m not really helping here…

      I wouldn’t worry about ‘too many’ water bottles… I think powdered Gatorade is easy so people can use as they choose. Pretzels and trail mix are great, maybe a couple bunches of bananas?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

